Institutional Official

Dr. Heather Coltman

Provost & Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Academic Affairs


Dr. Norman E. Garrison


Department of Biology


Ms. Tamara Hatch

Administrative Faculty

Sponsored Programs Administration

Dr. Chris Lantz



Dr. Melanie Shoup-Knox


Department of Psychology

Ms. Alyssa Valcourt


Libraries & Educational Technologies

Vivarium Facility Manager

Mr. Michael Love

Office of Research Integrity

Attending Veterinarian

Dr. Annette Hildabrand

Office of Research Integrity

Nonaffiliated Member

Ms. Kathleen Gass

Environmental Health Coordinator

Ms. Marcella Mullenax

Risk Management

Student Representative

Ms. Amanda Powell

Ex Officio

Ms. Carolyn Strong

Office of Research Integrity

Per the Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals (8th Edition) and JMU's Animal Welfare Assurance, the IACUC membership is comprised of:

  • a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine either certified (e.g., by ACLAM, ECLAM, JCLAM, KCLAM) or with training and experience in labo­ratory animal science and medicine or in the use of the species at the institution, 
  • at least one practicing scientist experienced in research involving animals,
  • at least one member from a nonscientific background, drawn from inside or outside the institution, and
  • at least one public member to represent general community inter­ests in the proper care and use of animals.

Back to Top