Interior Architecture students named University Innovation Fellows

Five James Madison University students, two from the School of Art, Design and Art History’s Interior Architecture program, have been named University Innovation Fellows by the National Science Foundation funded Epicenter. Sarah Rozman, sen...ior IARC major and Kaitlyn Pirrello, junior IARC major, are two of 66 students from 45 higher education institutions recently named from around the US.

The University Innovation Fellows are a network of student leaders working to create lasting institutional change that will increase student engagement with entrepreneurship, innovation, creativity, design thinking and venture creation. The program is part of a national movement to help all students gain the attitudes, skills and knowledge required for them to compete in the economy of the future.

The new cohort of Fellows brings the total number to 110 Fellows at 78 schools in the U.S. The program is run by Epicenter, which is funded by the National Science Foundation and directed by Stanford University and the National Collegiate Inventors and Innovators Alliance (NCIIA).

Fellows are sponsored by faculty and administrators at their schools and selected through an application process each spring and fall. Following acceptance into the program, students complete six weeks of online training, during which they connect with their new network of Fellows, examine their current entrepreneurial ecosystems and formulate action plans for their ideas.

Congratulations to Sarah and Kaitlyn on this extraordinary accomplishment!

For more information about the University Innovation Fellows and Epicenter, visit

Published: Friday, April 11, 2014

Last Updated: Thursday, January 4, 2018

Back to Top

Related Articles