Office of the Provost

Students Award Faculty for Excellence


This spring, students had the opportunity to recognize faculty they believe displayed JMU's principles of vision and engagement.

The Madison Vision Teaching Award was given to instructional faculty members who excelled in encouraging engaged learning in their students. These awards are unique on campus as the winners are selected entirely by students. The awarded faculty members will receive a one-time educational grant ranging from $500 - $1000.

The inaugural winners were:

  • Dr. Allison Bodkin, Department of Communication Studies
  • Professor Kimberly DuVall, Department of Psychology
  • Dr. Mark Piper, Department of Philosophy and Religion
  • Dr. Christopher Womack, Department of Kinesiology

To create and implement this recognition, the Faculty Senate worked with the Student Government Association. A combined committee developed the award criteria and collaborated to publicize the award to the student body. The criteria  focused on JMU’s Vision Statement – To be the national model for the engaged university: engaged with ideas and the world – and the university’s definition of engaged learning: "Developing deep, purposeful and reflective learning, while uniting campus and community in the pursuit, creation, application and dissemination of knowledge." This award was designed to identify faculty who have been most involved in fostering student learning and to give students a voice in recognizing excellent teaching. 

Published: Thursday, May 5, 2016

Last Updated: Thursday, January 4, 2018

Back to Top

Related Articles