Skip to Main Content


You are in the main content

Bill Hawk

Bill joined JMU as head of the Department of Philosophy and Religion in 2001. He also served as the General Education program coordinator of Cluster Two: Arts and Humanities shortly before being named chair of the Madison Collaborative in 2013. Bill continues to enjoy teaching and was one of the first faculty to integrate the Eight Key Questions into his courses. Before coming to JMU, Hawk served as a vice president and academic dean for three years at Eastern Mennonite University, where he was also a professor of philosophy.

As chair, Bill works directly with faculty, staff, students, and administrators to build the conceptual and practical framework for ethical reasoning at JMU and beyond. Email Bill.

Associate Chair

Lori Pyle, Ph.D.

With a diverse educational and professional background, Lori uses her experiences today as the associate chair of The Madison Collaborative.  She is a “triple Duke” with an undergraduate psychology degree, an MBA, and a Ph.D. in strategic leadership for post-secondary education. Lori worked in marketing at Sheridan Healthcare in south Florida and at CFA Institute in Charlottesville. She returned to JMU in 2007 as an information systems business analyst. She has been part of the Madison Collaborative and the preceding QEP efforts since 2011. As associate chair, Lori coordinates the day-to-day operations of the Madison Collaborative and facilitates workshops, events, and relationships. Email Lori.

Faculty Fellow

Joe Derby, Ph.D.

Joe is an assistant professor in the Marketing department of the College of Business. He teaches undergraduate sales courses and COB 300 principles of marketing.  During 2014-2015, he conducted research on how ethical reasoning instruction affects students’ personal selling ethics.  As a Madison Collaborative Fellow, he is researching how ethics are “marketed” at institutions and took a team of College of Business students to compete in the 2017 International Business Ethics Case Competition.

Faculty Fellow

Kara Kavanagh, Ph.D.

Kara Kavanagh is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Early, Elementary, and Reading Education. She developed content for an ethical reasoning assessment module for the College of Education as part of her fellowship. Kara also participated with six other faculty from various departments on a research project related to implementation fidelity of ethical reasoning curricula.

Student Affairs Fellow

Anna Lehnen

Anna Lehnen is the Coordinator for the University Program Board, one of the largest student-run organizations on campus, in the office of Student Activities and Involvement. 

Her focus within the fellowship is on increasing student contact, familiarity, and skill with the Eight Key Questions, as well as developing programs for different offices in the Division of Student Affairs. She also facilitates Eight Key Question workshops and trainings. Her passion with the Madison Collaborative is in helping students develop strong critical thinking skills and ethical leadership.

Faculty Fellow - Emeritus

Tim Ball, Ph.D.

Dr. Tim Ball is a faculty member in the School of Communication Studies and has served as the GCOM Basic Course Director in the General Education Program since 2003. Dr. Ball’s research interests include the development of pedagogical assignments and tools that aid student learning as well as the assessment of cognitive, behavioral, and affective measures on communication competence.

Dr. Ball served as a Madison Collaborative Fellow from August 2014 to May 2016. He piloted an 8-week online ethical reasoning curriculum, the Madison Collaborative Interactive, in the spring of 2015.

Student Affairs Fellow - Emeritus

Shelly Laurenzo

Shelly is the assistant director for first-year advising in the office of Career and Academic Planning. She served as a Madison Collaborative Fellow from August 2014 through May 2016. Her focus within the fellowship was on developing student programming, enhancing communication efforts of the office, and facilitating workshops. Shelly continues to be involved with the developing MC Educator program that she initiated as a fellow. 

Ethics Fellow - Emeritus

Erica Lewis, Ph.D.

An assistant professor of Nursing, Dr. Erica Lewis specializes in bioethics. In the classroom, she uses case studies and actual clinical situations to teach students how to ethically reason and subsequently apply ethical decisions to nursing practice.

During the 2013-2014 academic year, she guided the integration of the Eight Key Questions throughout the nursing curriculum. Lewis has published on the topic of medical error and other ethics issues such as disparities in vulnerable populations. While Erica was an ethics fellow, she consulted with departments and individual faculty seeking to integrate the Eight Key Questions. 

Faculty Fellow - Emeritus

Holly McCartney, Ph.D.

Holly is an associate professor in the Early, Elementary and Reading department of the College of Education.  She spent spring semester of 2014 researching how teachers recognize and work through ethical dilemmas in the classroom. She teaches creativity and the arts for young children, and teacher inquiry, a qualitative research course for graduate students. She is also the director of the Early Childhood MAT program.

As an MC fellow from August 2014 through May 2016, she collaborated with faculty who were interested in integrating ethical reasoning into their existing courses. Holly continues to coordinate the Food for Thought brown bag series that she created during her fellowship. 

The Madison Collaborative Council

The Madison Collaborative Council is a broad cross section of the faculty, administration and student leadership at JMU that serves as the advisory body to the MC.

Allison Ames, Center for Assessment & Research Studies

Josh Bacon, Office of the Dean of Students

Dave Barnes, University Unions

Fletcher Linder, Interdisciplinary Liberal Studies

Cara Meixner, Center for Faculty Innovation

David McGraw, Integrated Science and Technology

Kevin Meaney, Residence Life

Meg Mulrooney, University Studies

Andy Perrine, Communications and Marketing

Elisabeth Pyburn, Center for Assessment & Research Studies

Sarah Sunde, Orientation

Michael Trocchia, Libraries & Educational Technologies, Philosophy and Religion

Rob Tucker, Communications and Marketing