A-to-Z Index

EYH at James Madison University 
Saturday, March 21, 2015, 9:30am-3:15pm


Keynote Speakers

Every year, female mathematicians and scientists are invited to share their experiences and interest in math and science with the participants of the EYH Conference.  The addresses are open to the entire community.



The 2014 Morning Speaker will be Dr. Melyni Worth, Foxden Equine (Ph.D. Equine Nutrition and Exercise Physiology).

  Originally from Great Britain, by way of Kenya, Dr. Worth has a Bachelors degree in Agricultural Biochemistry from Newcastle University, a Masters in Equine Nutrition from University College of Wales, and a Ph.D. in Equine Nutrition and Exercise Physiology from Virginia Tech.
  Dr. Worth founded a nutrition company, Foxden Equine, in 1996. She has written articles in numerous national equine publications. Her book, The Horse Nutrition Handbook, has been used in equine nutrition courses across the country.
  Dr. Worth holds a British Horse Society Assistant Instructors certification (BHSAI) and an International Trainers License (II) from the European Union. She has trained horses and taught riders for 28 years. 


The 2014 Afternoon Speaker will be Dr. Caroline Lubert, JMU Department of Mathematics and Statistics (Ph.D. Engineering).

  Dr. Lubert graduated from the University of Exeter, U.K., with a B.Sc. in Mathematics (1984) and a Ph.D. in Engineering (1988). She has worked as a postdoctoral research fellow and lecturer at several universities in the United Kingdom.
  In 1999, Dr. Lubert joined the Department of Mathematics & Statistics at James Madison University, where she is currently a Professor of Mathematics. In 2003 - 2004 she spent a year at Stevens Institute of Technology, as a Research Associate, and, during this time, she was awarded a US patent (jointly with Dr. Dinesh Verma).
  Dr. Lubert is the technical editor of a number of international conferences and journals and has written numerous papers and a technical monograph. She is also the recipient of several awards, for both teaching and research, including the JMU College of Science and Mathematics Madison Scholar Award.


The 2013 Opening Speaker was Dr. Elise Barrella, JMU Department of Engineering (Ph.D Civil Engineering).


The 2013 Keynote Speaker was Dr. Crystal Brogan, National Radio Astronomy Observatory (Ph.D. Physics and Astronomy).


The 2012 Opening Speaker was Dr. Debra Warne, JMU Department of Mathematics and Statistics (Ph. D. Mathematics).


The 2012 Keynote Speaker was Dr. Alissa S. Crans, Loyola Marymount University (Ph.D. Mathematics).


The 2011 Opening Speaker was Dr. Carla Martin,  JMU Department of Mathematics and Statistics (Ph.D. Applied Mathematics).

The 2011 Keynote Speaker was Dr. Rebecca Goldin, George Mason University (Ph.D. Mathematics).

Dr. Rebecca Goldin



The 2010 Keynote Speaker was Dr. Kyle Myers, U.S. Food and Drug Administration (Ph.D. Optical Sciences).

Dr. Kyle Myers



The 2009 Keynote Speaker was Dr. Kathryn Thornton, former NASA astronaut (Ph.D. Physics).

Dr. Kathryn Thornton



The 2008 Keynote Speaker was Dr. Monica Neagoy (Ph.D. Mathematics Education).

Dr. Monica Neagoy