CSM faculty excel in many areas of their work as educators and scholars.  Their outstanding abilities are on display every day in their classrooms and labs, and their accomplishments are celebrated through local, national, and international recognition.

Educational Leave

Educational Leave provides faculty members with opportunities, such as independent study, research, and postgraduate study, to expand their teaching abilities and to foster intellectual growth.

The ultimate purpose of these leaves is to sustain vigor, especially in the University’s academic instructional programs, and to ensure that faculty members have the opportunity for professional development.

Click to download application: Educational Leave 2019-20

**** Click to download new criteria for review.

Faculty Awards

JMU Recognition

Madison Scholar – Award winners exemplify excellence and scholarly achievement in their respective disciplines. Each winner presents a lecture on his/her area of expertise during the academic year. CSM professors nominate one of their colleagues for the Madison Scholar award each year.  The recipient is invited to deliver the annual Madison Lecture in the fall.

For more information about the Madison Scholar Award, visit this link.

Distinguished Teaching Award - The Distinguished Teacher Award was established in honor of former JMU faculty member Carl Harter to celebrate exemplary teaching and excellence in the classroom.  Each year, the University recognizes one CSM professor for this award.  The CSM recipient is invited to deliver the faculty address to graduates at the CSM Commencement ceremony in the spring.

For more information about the Distinguished Teaching Award, visit this link.

Distinguished Service Award - The Distinguished Service Award was established to recognize a faculty member who provides exceptional professional-related service at the university, local and national levels. This awardee is selected by CSM faculty based on superlative contributions in service to JMU, to the Shenandoah region, or their national/international scientific communities.

For more information about the Distinguished Service Award, visit this link.

Click to download application

State Recognition

State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV) Outstanding Faculty Award

James Madison University cultivates stellar talent through a variety of initiatives, including the Outstanding Faculty Awards (OFA) for the Commonwealth of Virginia. The Outstanding Faculty Awards are the Commonwealth's highest honor for faculty at Virginia's public and private colleges and universities. These awards recognize superior accomplishments in teaching, research, and public service.

For more information about the Distinguished Service Award, visit this link.

Back to Top