James Madison University

NEW COLLEGES FORMED A plan to reorganize the College of Integrated Science and Technology into two colleges took effect July 1, 2012. The new colleges are the College of Health and Behavioral Studies and the College of Integrated Science and Engineering.


Congratulations to the recipients of this year’s All Together One awards!

By: Beth Principi
Posted: April 9, 2009

On Tuesday, April 7, 2009 the tenth annual All Together One Community Gathering awarded six people who they believed embodied the spirit of James Madison University. The Community Gathering was sponsored by Omicron Delta Kappa, the national leadership honors society.  Of the six recipients, three belong to the College of Integrated Science and Technology. 

Emily Akerson, the Associate Director of the Institute of Innovation in Health and Human Services (IIHHS), was the first recipient of the afternoon.  Akerson came to James Madison University in 2000, and since then has made an unwavering impact on the university by “building a better community towards the common good.”  Through IIHHS, she helps bring students, faculty and community together.

Dr. Kenneth Barron, an associate professor of Psychology, was the second recipient of the afternoon.  Barron has been at JMU for eight years, and has taught fourteen undergraduate courses, while creating four courses on this own.  His work on motivation and achievement in academic, sports and work has been featured in many journals.  According to the Department Head for psychology, Michael Stoloff, “There are many excellent teachers at JMU, but Barron stands out among his peers.”

Dr. Ramon Mata-Toledo, another award recipient of the afternoon, is a Computer Science professor.  Mata-Toledo has been at James Madison University for twenty-one years, and in those years has taught 27 courses and served on many university committees.  Students have described Mata-Toledo as a teacher, mentor and friend.  He is known to open his home up to students, and invites them for Thanksgiving dinner.

Congratulations to Emily Akerson, Kenneth Barron and Ramon Mata-Toledo, for making CISAT a great place for students and faculty!