Each year we feature a keynote speaker for the Department’s annual Spring Undergraduate Research Symposium. We are honored to have had speakers who are alumni of the department and are willing to come back and share with our students their experiences of “life after JMU”. We thank each of these speakers and look forward to future alumni participation in the Department of Chemistry Spring Undergraduate Research Symposium.


JMU Class

Speaker and Affiliation

2018 2002

William Gemmill, Ph.D.

Eminess Technologies, Inc.

2017 2004

Zeric Hulvey, Ph.D.

United States Department of Energy

2016 2007

Reid Gadziala, Pharm.D., BCNP, MBA

Cleveland Clinic

2015 1994

Michael Leopold, Ph.D.

University of Richmond

2014 1996

Dana McGraw Dattelbaum, Ph.D.

Los Alamos National Laboratory
2013 1999

Christy Vestal Martin, Ph.D.

Vorbeck Materials
Jessup, MD



Melissa C. Rhoten, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Chair of Chemistry & Physics
Longwood University

Orde Q. Munro, Ph.D.

Professor and Fulbright Scholar
University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
2011 1992

Morgan S. Sibbald, Ph.D.

Sherwin-Williams Company
2010 1988

Kevin Morris, Ph.D.

Klingenmeyer Distinguished Professor of Chemistry
Carthage College
2009 1988

Chris E. Holmes, M.D., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
The University of Vermont College of Medicine
2008 1995

Jonathan Dattlebaum, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Chemistry
University of Richmond
2007 1987

Elizabeth Perry, M.D.

Signature Healthcare, Inc.
Charlotte, NC
2006 1967

Carolyn Abitbol, M.D.

Professor of Pediatric
Medical Director Pediatric Dialysis
University of Miami (FL) School of Medicine



Daniel Downey, Ph.D.

Professor of Chemistry
James Madison University

Gary Rice, Ph.D.

Professor and Department Chair
College of William and Mary
2004 1987

James (Dusty) Baber, Ph.D.

National Institutes of Health
2003 1984

Fred King, Ph.D.

Professor of Chemistry, Associate Dean, College of Arts and Letters
West Virginia University
2002 1977

Roger Bertholf, M.D.

Associate Professor of Pathology
University of Florida School of Medicine
2001 1979

 Mrs. Katheryn Lam

 Senior Consultant, e-business Solutions
 International Business Machines
1999 1987

Jose Madalengoitia, Ph.D.

 Associate Professor of Chemistry
 University of Vermont
1997 1987

 Fred R. Kinder, Ph.D.

 Oncology Research Program
 Novartis Research Institute
1996 1986

 Terry O. Trask, Ph.D.

 Director, Lycra Research and Development
 DuPont Chemicals
1995 1973

 Carl Lentz, Ph.D.

 Eastman Fine Chemicals
1994 1990

 Michele A. Kelly, Ph.D.

 Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
 University of Maryland Baltimore County
1993 1985

 Cynthia K. Fallon, Ph.D.

 Research Chemist
 DuPont Chemicals
1992 1983

 Laurie Locascio, Ph.D.

 National Institute of Standards and Technology
1991 1983

 Noreen Naiman, Ph.D.

 North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics
1990 1982

 Matthew T. Stershic, Ph.D.

 Senior Chemist
 Atomchem North Amercia
1989 1982

 Michael Kinter, Ph.D.

 Department of Cell Biology
 Cleveland Clinic Lerner Research Institute
1988 N/A

 Thomas J. Meyer, Ph.D.

 Associate Director of Strategic Research
 Los Alamos National Laboratory
1987 1980

Steven Davis, Ph.D.

Naval Research Laboratory
1986 1980

Steven A. Hackney, Ph.D.

Department of Materials Science and Engineering
Michigan Technological University
1983 N/A

Richard B. Lam, Ph.D.

1982 1975

Daniel Downey, Ph.D.

Professor of Chemistry
James Madison University
1981 1959

Mr. Ronald E. Ney

Office of Waste and Waste Management
Environmental Protection Agency
1980 N/A

Stanley G. Sunderwirth, Ph.D.

Dean, School of Science and Mathematics
Metropolitan State College (Denver, CO)
1979 1973

 Carl Lentz, Ph.D.

 Eastman Fine Chemicals

Back to Top