Skip to Main Content

Appendices

You are in the main content


Policy 1110
Appendix C

State/Local Laws Regarding Drinking


Virginia requires persons to be 21 years old to possess, consume or purchase alcoholic beverages. Ordinances of Rockingham County forbid drinking in public. It is unlawful to have in possession or consume in public beer, wine or alcohol in or on county property. It is also unlawful to be drunk or use profane language any place in the County.

It is unlawful to present false identification to purchase or consume alcohol and to give or permit to give or sell alcohol to persons under 21. By law, violators of these and all laws concerning alcohol and drug use are subject to arrest. Penalties determined by the courts for these violations include fines, imprisonment and the suspension of the violator's driver's license. 

In accordance with Drug-Free Schools and Communities Act Amendments of 1989, federal financial aid recipients convicted of violating federal, state or local laws governing drug use may lose federal financial aid. Pell Grant recipients who violate the certification required by the Drug Free Work Place Act are subject to the suspension or termination of the grant. 

The Virginia General Assembly passed legislation that became law on May 9, 1991, which extends enhanced penalties for a conviction related to the manufacture, sale, distribution, or possession of drugs on or near any institution of higher education. Violations of this law, commonly known as the "Drug-Free School Zone" law, are considered a felony, punishable by imprisonment of no less than one year nor more than five years and fines up to $100,000. 

In addition, the University must comply with the Drug-Free Workplace Act of 1988. University employees and students are subject to the provisions of the Drug-Free Workplace Act of 1988.