Skip to Main Content
You are in the main content


Every year, female mathematicians and scientists are invited to share their experiences and interest in math and science with the participants of the EYH Conference.  The addresses are open to the entire community.

The 2015 Morning Speaker will be Dr. Shalyn CrawfordFour Star Equine Veterinary Services (Doctor of Veterinary Medicine).

Dr. Crawford is a Virginia alum twice over, graduating Magna Cum Laude from James Madison University and then advancing to veterinary school at Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine at Virginia Tech.  After graduating as a DVM, Dr. Crawford went on to complete a competitive post-graduate internship in equine medicine, surgery, and general practice at the well respected Blue Ridge Equine Clinic outside of Charlottesville, VA.  She owns and operates Four Star Equine Veterinary Services out of New Market, VA.

The 2015 Afternoon Speaker will be Dr. Kimberly F. Sellers, Georgetown University (Ph.D. Statistics).

Dr. Sellers is an Associate Professor of Statistics at Georgetown University.  She completed bachelor's and master's degrees in mathematics at the University of Maryland and a Ph.D. in Statistics at the George Washington University.  Dr. Sellers held previous faculty positions at Carnegie Mellon University as a Visiting Assistant Professor of Statistics and the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine as an Assistant Professor of Biostatistics and Senior Scholar at the Center for Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics (CCEB).   In her spare time, Dr. Sellers enjoys spending time with her 7th grade son as well as traveling and the arts. 

The 2014 Morning Speaker will be Dr. Melyni Worth, Foxden Equine (Ph.D. Equine Nutrition and Exercise Physiology).

The 2014 Afternoon Speaker will be Dr. Caroline Lubert, JMU Department of Mathematics and Statistics (Ph.D. Engineering).

The 2013 Opening Speaker was Dr. Elise Barrella, JMU Department of Engineering (Ph.D Civil Engineering).

The 2013 Keynote Speaker was Dr. Crystal Brogan, National Radio Astronomy Observatory (Ph.D. Physics and Astronomy).

The 2012 Opening Speaker was Dr. Debra Warne, JMU Department of Mathematics and Statistics (Ph. D. Mathematics).

The 2012 Keynote Speaker was Dr. Alissa S. Crans, Loyola Marymount University (Ph.D. Mathematics).

The 2011 Opening Speaker was Dr. Carla Martin,  JMU Department of Mathematics and Statistics (Ph.D. Applied Mathematics).

The 2011 Keynote Speaker was Dr. Rebecca Goldin, George Mason University (Ph.D. Mathematics).

Dr. Rebecca Goldin

The 2010 Keynote Speaker was Dr. Kyle Myers, U.S. Food and Drug Administration (Ph.D. Optical Sciences).

Dr. Kyle Myers

The 2009 Keynote Speaker was Dr. Kathryn Thornton, former NASA astronaut (Ph.D. Physics).

Dr. Kathryn Thornton

The 2008 Keynote Speaker was Dr. Monica Neagoy (Ph.D. Mathematics Education).

Dr. Monica Neagoy