Skip to Main Content

You are in the main content
Cover Photo Image

Graduate Programs

Graduate Degrees

The School of Art, Design and Art History offers the following graduate degrees:

Application and Portfolio Deadlines

Every academic year: January 16

 Application Procedures

All graduate applications to the School of Art, Design and Art History are made through the JMU Graduate School’s website. To begin your application please visit the JMU Graduate College website, select “For Prospective Students” and then follow the instructions after selecting the “Apply Now” button.

The on-line application process requires official transcripts from all previously attended institutions, an artist statement, a brief statement of purpose, a portfolio of between 10-15 works of art, and three letters of reference. You will be provided a link within the Graduate School application to submit documents electronically, including your portfolio and letters of references.

Graduate Studies Handbook (2014/2015)

Graduate Studies Handbook (2015/2016)

Contact the Program Directors

M.F.A. and M.A. in Studio Art:
Cole Welter,
Professor of Art and Graduate Program Director
Ph.D. Texas Tech university; M.F.A University of Texas at Austin; B.F.A. with Honors, University of Texas at Austin 540.568.6322

M.A. in Art Education
Karin Tollefson-Hall, Assistant Professor of Art Education and Art Education Graduate Program Director
Ph.D. Art Education, The University of Iowa; M.A. Art Education, The University of Iowa; B.A. Education, University of Northern Iowa 540.568.4304