THE COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA THE VISITORS OF JAMES MADISON UNIVERSITY

GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE

Minutes of the Meeting of April 20, 2023

The Governance Committee of the James Madison University Board of Visitors met on Thursday, April 20, 2023 in the Festival Conference and Student Center at James Madison University. Jeff Grass, chair, called the meeting to order at 12:02 pm.

PRESENT:

Falcon, Chris Grass, Jeff, Chair Harper, Donna, liaison Herod, Maribeth Major, Lara Tompkins Johnson, Deborah White, Jack

ALSO PRESENT:

Alger, Jonathan, President Knight, Jack, University Legal Counsel Langridge, Nick Orem, Chris

On motion by Lara Major, seconded by Deborah Tompkins Johnson, approved the minutes of the February 9, 2023 meeting.

2023 Board Retreat

Jeff Grass shared the intended outcome for the retreat and the collaboration with EAB. Nick Langridge, Vice President for Advancement and Chris Orem, Director for Institutional Research shared the philosophy and vision for how the strategic plan, key priorities and long-range planning will fit with the development of "big ideas." (Attachment A)

Leadership Succession

The committee concurred on the draft procedure for any vacancy in the presidency.

Governance Committee Review

The committee discussed the past year and shared the following as significant accomplishments:

- Establishment of the committee following the retreat in 2021
- Transparency and website update
- Improvements to work and efficiencies of the board
- Procedures that provide consistency and guidance
- Proactive and reactive for board functions and operations
- Collaboration to consider ideas
- Review of committee structure

Board Liaisons



The committee discussed the role/purpose of board liaisons; what topics/initiatives might have a board liaison; and what type of feedback/reporting would here be. It was suggested to develop a procedure describing the board liaison position and an addition to the Manual incorporating the board liaison concept.	
With no further business, the committee adjourned at 1:01 pm.	
	Jeff Grass, Chair
Donna L. Harper, Secretary	

