THE COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA THE VISITORS OF JAMES MADISON UNIVERSITY

Minutes of the Academic Excellence Committee

The Academic Excellence Committee met on Thursday, February 9, 2023, in the Highlands Room of the Festival Conference and Student Center at James Madison University. Matthew Gray-Keeling, Chair, called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

Present:

Bell, Dickie Gray-Keeling, Matthew White, Jack Falcon, Chris Welburn, Craig

Others:

Alger, Jonathan, President

Argenbright, Christine, Associate Professor, Nursing; DNP and MSN Program Coordinator Busing, Mike, Dean, College of Business

Clarke, Theresa, Academic Unit Head, Marketing

Coltman, Heather, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Corey, Jeannie, Professor, Nursing

Herod, Maribeth, Rector

Heydari, M. Hossain, Professor, Computer Science and Program Director Kolvoord, Robert, Dean, College of Integrated Science and Engineering

Lewis, Jolie, Associate Director of Transfer Student Success, University Advising

Lovell, Sharon, Dean, College of Health and Behavioral Studies

Lucas, Jordan, Class of 2025, Finance BBA

McDaniel, Kate, Transfer Advising Coordinator, University Advising

Molina, Rudy, Vice Provost, Student Academic Success and Enrollment Management

Ott Walter, Kathy, Speaker, Faculty Senate

Pratt, Jordan, Class of 2023, Finance BBA

Stahr, Charles, First Year, Exploratory

Approval of Minutes

On motion by Craig Welburn and seconded by Dickie Bell, the Academic Excellence Committee minutes of November 17, 2022, were approved.

Academic Affairs Divisional Update

Provost Coltman acknowledged the recent losses of the JMU community and recognized two faculty who passed away in the last few months. Dr. Tatiana Benjamin, assistant professor of justice studies, died in



December, and Dr. Barkley Rosser, professor of economics, passed away in January. These valuable members of the faculty are deeply missed.

She also updated the committee on the status of the promotion and tenure process and of the Center for Global Engagement search for an Executive Director. Heather reviewed a few highlights of faculty engagement and shared three recent publications, which the full board is receiving at their meeting. She thanked Administration and Finance for recent one-time funding of \$2M that is being used throughout Academic Affairs for equipment purchases. The Provost concluded with an update on a new committee: the Joint Faculty Senate/Provost Academic Affairs Administrative and Professional Faculty Hiring Guidelines Task Force. This group of faculty and AA administrators will review the process for hiring A&P faculty members within the division.

College Spotlight: Business

Two students from the College of Business showcased how successful programming leads to internships and academic research opportunities. Jordan Lucas, '25 Finance, spoke about how his May 2022 Career Trek to New York City led to securing a summer internship at Citibank. Dr. Theresa Clarke, AUH Marketing, and Jordan Pratt, '23 Finance, briefed the committee on the College of Business Research Experience for Undergraduates Program. Participation in this program led to the opportunity for Jordan to present her research at the Network for Undergraduate Research in Virginia (NURVa) Conference in January at Christopher Newport University. Both Career Trek and Research Experience for Undergraduates are made possible through College of Business differential tuition.

Faculty Senate Speaker Report

Dr. Kathy Ott Walter, Faculty Senate Speaker, shared that senate has concerns about equitable workloads, student attendance and class participation, and shared governance. Regarding shared governance, the speaker described the six deliverables that the Joint Faculty Senate/Provost Shared Governance Task Force is currently working on. The speaker also highlighted a variety of activities in the Math and Statistics and Psychology departments including undergraduate research projects, youth programming and a grant award which is enabling meaningful community engagement related to voter registration and education.

Curriculum Updates

The committee heard a proposal from Dr. Jeannie Corey and Dr. Christine Argenbright from the School of Nursing for a new academic program, a graduate certificate in Health Policy. The academic program will prepare individuals to become healthcare advocacy leaders in a variety of settings. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics and the Virginia Employment Commission, employment projections for careers related to health policy are strong and anticipated to increase. No funding requests from the state are requested.

On a motion by Chris Falcon and seconded by Craig Welburn, the committee unanimously approved this new academic program, the graduate certificate in Health Policy.

Dr. Hossain Heydari, Program Director, presented a proposed change to a concentration within the existing Master of Science in Computer Science with a concentration in Cybersecurity. This curriculum revision would re-label current "Preparatory Courses" to "Additional Requirements" and modify the total credit hours to be variable. There would be no changes to the existing 33-credit hour curriculum. Employment



opportunities in cybersecurity are currently high and increasing, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics and the Virginia Employment Commission. No additional resources are requested.

On a motion by Dickie Bell and seconded by Craig Welburn, the committee unanimously approved the proposed change to the Master of Science in Computer Science with a concentration in Cybersecurity program.

Bridge to Madison

Vice Provost Rudy Molina introduced Charles Stahr, a first year student in the Bridge to Madison program, an innovative collaboration between JMU and Blue Ridge Community College, launched in Fall 2022 with 27 students in the first cohort. Charles shared the challenges, successes and lessons learned after his first semester in the program. Dr. Molina will present an in-depth review of Bridge to Madison at the April committee meeting.

There being no further business, on the motion of Chris Falcon and seconded by Craig Welburn, the Academic Excellence Committee meeting adjourned at 2:20 p.m.

	Respectfully submitted,
	Matthew Gray-Keeling, Chair
Donna Harper. Secretary to the Board	

