Position Information

Posted
Jul 1, 2019

Closes
Sep 1, 2019

Description

Duties:

I am looking for someone with Special Education experience to be a Big Sister to my college-aged daughter who happens to be both blind and have PDD (on the autistic spectrum). The position involves taking my daughter to do fun activities (local concerts – day or evening, events in the community, X-Lab events, working with her on personal care and independence skills, implementing communication and problem-solving techniques, and possibly working with her on Rapid Prompt Method writing. In addition, I encourage aides to take my daughter to events and activities in the evening or to events outside the designated shift times (see below) that would be fun for her (concerts at Golden Pony, etc…)


(NOTE: We have 3 cats and have a non-smoking environment) 

Requirements:

- Experience working with individuals who have special needs (e.g.; SPED, Speech and Language, OT)
- Be reliable and mature
- Have a car and a clean driving record
- Have a flexible schedule
- Be able to read non-verbal communication and be comfortable w/someone who uses minimal verbal communication
- Is patient, creative, and self-motivated
- Be willing to implement guidelines for communication and engagement 

Big Sisters will need to fill out an attendant application with Public Partnerships in order to work.

How to apply:

Please send an email that includes the following:

1) your experience working with special needs children
2) why you are interested in this job
3) your year and your major
4) your schedule / availability (i.e., what days you would be free to work)
5) your phone number
5) phone and email contact information for 3 references.
Looking forward to hearing from you!

Salary
$9.40/hour

Specific hours
During the school year, I am looking for someone who could work one or both of these shifts: Friday afternoons (from 12:50-5 pm) and/or Saturday mornings (9:50 – 1:30). There would also be night time care opportunities as well as the possibility of continuing to work longer hours (up to full time) over her school breaks and summer vacation.


Employer Information

Contact
Jan Eckert

Email
eckertj2@verizon.net

Address
, Harrisonburg, VA,

Back to Top