Skip to Main Content
You are in the main content

Faculty, staff, students, and local government staff representatives serve annually on the committees, which are collectively called the Institute for Stewardship of the Natural World (ISNW). The committees make policy and practice recommendations, create programming, and serve as peer educators. They are led by an Executive Council supported by the Office of Environmental Stewardship and Sustainability (OESS) staff.

Current committees:
The Awareness and Programming Committee increases awareness of issues of sustainability and environmental stewardship through planning, marketing and supporting programs that share information which challenges all members of the JMU community to think critically about their role in achieving the long-term stewardship of the Earth;

The Campus Accessibility Committee supports the transportation demand coordination efforts on campus by assisting with analyzing progress and identifying transportation opportunities;

The Conservation Committee models and champions best practices for environmental stewardship and pilot tests potential environmental stewardship initiatives; and,

The Education and Scholarship Committee promotes and celebrates teaching and learning across disciplines and general education, as well as scholarly and creative activities that engage faculty, staff, students and other members of the community in improving our environment.

Institute for Stewardship of the Natural World Executive Council Members:
Virginia Cook, Director of Real Property and Space Management
Judith Dilts, Ph.D., Associate Dean, College of Science and Math
Maggie Evans, Executive Assistant to the President
Marsha Mays-Bernard, Associate Vice-President, Multicultural Awareness & Student Health
Jim McConnel, Ph.D., Dean of Students
Mack Moore, Risk Management Coordinator
Towana Moore, Associate Vice President of Business Services
Craig Short, Director of Facilities Management
Jeffrey Tang, Ph.D., Associate Dean, College of Integrated Science and Engineering

Original committees that have completed their charge:
Policies and Practices