FORBES CENTER FOR THE PERFORMING ARTS JAMES MADISON UNIVERSITY:

School of Music

presents

JMU Jazz Band Greg Thomas, director

JMU Jazz Ensemble Chuck Dotas, director

Tuesday, November 28, 2023 8 pm Concert Hall



There will be one 15-minute intermission

Program

JMU Jazz Band Greg Thomas, *director*

Bemsha Swing

Thelonious Monk and Denzel Best

David Barredo, tenor sax Oliver Hale, trumpet Luke Lerner, alto sax Brendan Putnam, drums Tommy Allen, alto sax arr. Bill Holman

This I Dig Of You

Hank Mobley arr. Mike Tomaro

Hunter LaFreniere, guitar Elise Donley, alto sax Lyra Ward, trombone Tyrique Payne, tenor sax

Black Coffee

Paul Webster and Sonny Burke

Ginny Bruno, vocal

When The Lady Dances

Bob Mintzer

George Whichard, tenor sax David Barredo, tenor sax Tommy Allen, alto sax

Such Sweet Thunder

Duke Ellington and Billy Strayhorn

George Whichard, tenor sax Mihir Borah, flute

Dylan Royal, bari sax

arr. Mike Kamuf

15-Minute Intermission

Patrons are reminded to turn off all pagers, cell phones, personal computers, and any other electronic devices.

The unauthorized videotaping or any other recording of this production is strictly prohibited in adherence with Federal copyright laws.

JMU Jazz Ensemble Chuck Dotas, director

Adam's Apple

Gabe Cabellero, trombone Carter King, trumpet Sammy Nelson, tenor sax Wayne Shorter arr. Chris Merz

Sandy's Blues

Ben Scott, guitar Benji Loeffler, alto sax Michael Csech, bass Evan Bertoglio, tenor sax Grayson Creekmore, drums Jean Frechette

Blood Count

Haven Kahn, alto sax

Billy Strayhorn

Rumba en Fuego

Benji Loeffler, alto sax Owen Brown, trumpet Grayson Creekmore, vibes Haven Kahn, alto sax Michele Fernandez

Graffiti on the "A" Train

Sam Loeffler, trumpet Evan Bertoglio, tenor sax Ben Scott, guitar John D'earth arr. Chuck Dotas

Moanin'

Sammy Nelson, tenor sax Owen Brown, trumpet Alexander Lau, bari sax Charles Mingus arr. Sy Johnson

Personnel

JMU Jazz Band

<u>Voice</u> Ginny Bruno

Woodwinds Mihir Borah, flute/pic. Beau Mueller, clarinet Valerie Alvarado, clarinet Tommy Allen, lead alto sax Luke Lerner, alto sax Elise Donley, alto sax George Whichard, tenor sax David Barredo, tenor sax Tyrique Payne, tenor sax Dylan Royal, bari sax

Trumpets Jamie Johnson, lead Oliver Hale Caleb Roden Mason Puckett Jackson Hephner Katia Birch Dylan Gonzales

Trombones Ethan Linklater, lead Lyra Ward Levi Markle C.J. Brown James Wilson, bass

Rhythm Section Shaun McGovern, piano Hunter LaFreniere, guitar Jacob Minks, bass Brendan Putnam, drum

JMU Jazz Ensemble

Woodwinds Ian Graff, clarinet/flute Haven Kahn, alto/sop sax Benji Loeffler, alto sax Evan Bertoglio, tenor sax Sammy Nelson, tenor sax Alexander Lau, bari sax

Trumpets Owen Brown Chris Atkinson Ryan Johnson Jacob Fujioka Carter King

Trombones Teague Jenkins Gabe Cabellero Bradley Fuller Henry Taylor, bass

Rhythm Section Iris Leffler, piano Molly Coffey, piano Ben Scott, guitar Michael Cseh, bass Ethan Walker, drums Grayson Creekmore, drums/vibes

Zane Johnson, congas