Cover Photo Image

The Centennial Scholars Program has been recognized for its dedication to college-seeking students by providing academic and financial assistance to the future leaders of tomorrow. We are proud to have excellent students recognized in newspapers and magazines for their contributions at James Madison University.  

Listed below, please find news and accomplishments on the CSP program and outstanding CSP students


  • Harriscla Arraheffege (CSP Class of 2017) completed her first year of medical school at the West Virginia School of Osteopathic School of Medicine.


  • Zenobia Lee-Nelson (CSP Class of 2021) was awarded the All Together One Award at the Community Gathering this spring. The All Together One concept and the Community Gathering celebrated individuality and its important in the community.
  • Ronald Terry (CSP Class of 2020) was awarded the First Year Teacher of the Year award at Colonial Trail Elementary School.
  • Donatine Afful (CSP Class of 2017) has been accepted into the Alabama College of Osteopathic Medicine and began his program this past summer.
  • Jazmine Otey (CSP Class of 2020) was an editorial intern in University Marketing and Branding last semester. Jazmine was a senior Media Arts and Design major with a concentration in Journalism and a minor in Writing, Rhetoric and Technical Communication. Enamored with writing since a young age, Otey has written for her hometown newspaper in Roanoke, Virginia, and reported in Urbino, Italy, last summer during JMU’s multimedia journalism program abroad. She wrote Faculty Focus on Page 10 and about JMU employees earning various awards on. Check out Jazmine's work here!
  • Zachary Lane (CSP class of 2011) received a Bachelor of Science from James Madison University (Class of 2011) and a Master of Science from University of Memphis (Class of 2012). Upon graduation, he started his career in the public sector and nonprofit space. He has worked with organizations such as the Science Museum of Virginia, Boys and Girls Club of Metro Richmond, Virginia Department of Juvenile Justice, Hallmark Youthcare, and Communities In Schools of Petersburg. He recently graduated from the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill Kenan-Flagler Business School with a Masters of Accounting degree (Class of 2020). He has now started a new career in public accounting while simultaneously pursuing a CPA license. He is a proud member of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. As a member, he has served on the planning committee for our annual March for Babies walk in collaboration with the March of Dimes. He will be presenting at JMU this November for B(l)ack in the Days presented by members of the Black Alumni Chapter.
  • Boyd Reid (CSP Class of 2015) received a Bachelor of Science in Communication Studies with a minor in French from JMU. Today, Boyd is living in Toronto where he co-founded Hop In Microtransit Technologies Inc. Boyd is active in his community; he is a member of the Black Professionals in Tech Network (BPTN) and the Black Innovation Fellowship (BiF at The DMZ). Boyd aspires to be a successful entrepreneur and philanthropist worthy of one day returning to JMU to give a commencement speech. He will be presenting at JMU this November for B(l)ack in the Days presented by members of the Black Alumni Chapter.


  • Pierre Mbala was featured on the front page of The Breeze for his work fundraising for education in the Democratic Republic of the Congo through jewlery.
  • CHBSChats with Shay Lumpkin, learn about how Shay has fully embraced the psychology major.
  • Current CSP Student, Zeru Tadesse, has recieved an internship with Qualcomm in California for summer 2020.
  • Anthony Mujica (CSP Class of 2013) was featured by JMU as an Alumni Success Story for his work at Inova Medical Group.
  • Tiffany Diggs (CSP Class of 2018) was featured in a Breeze article about graduating from JMU debt-free.
  • Jacob Meadows and O'nae Harris were honored by the Office of Admissions for dedicating the most time to the spring 2019 Phone-A-Thon.


  • Lauren Pope (CSP Class of 2017) received the National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship for her research at Stanford University. The program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master's and doctoral degrees at accredited United States institutions.
  • Justin Albert-Thomas, Averie Jackson, Tonisha Jones, John Lopez-Najarro, Haley Paterson, Tiffany Rodrigeuz, Joshua Smith, and Ashawrie White served as marshals in the December 2018 Commencement Ceremony.
  • Sakira Coleman has been recognized as the 2018 Newman Civic Fellow Campus Compact recepient. 
  • Desiree Edemba has been selected as the student representative on the JMU Board of Visitors for the 2018-2019 school year.


  • Current CSP students, Atabongkeng Atabong (Argentina), MeShawn Macklin (Ghana), Dezarae Murchinson (Ghana) and Cindy Ramirez (Spain) have been awarded the Gillman Scholarship to study abroad during the summer of 2018. 
  • Sunil Devkota (CSP Class of 2017) has been accepted to the University of Louisville Kentucky School of Osteopathic Medicine.
  • Lauren Pope (CSP Class of 2017) has been accepted to Stanford University with a full scholarship to earn a Master's and Doctorate degree in Biology.
  • Courtney Braxton (CSP Class of 2011) recently completed her doctorate in Chemical Biology.






Back to Top