Organization Name:
Catholic Relief Services

Organization Type:

Mission Statement:
Catholic Relief Services was founded in 1943 by the Catholic Bishops of the United States to assist the poor and disadvantaged outside the country. The fundamental motivating force in all activities of CRS is the Gospel of Jesus Christ as it pertains to the alleviation of human suffering, the development of people and the fostering of charity and justice in the world. CRS provides direct aid to the poor, and involves people in their own development, helping them to realize their potential. And CRS educates the people of the United States to fulfill their moral responsibilities toward our brothers and sisters around the world by helping the poor, working to remove the causes of poverty, and promoting social justice. Catholic Relief Services gives active witness to the mandate of Jesus Christ to respond to human needs in the following ways: by responding to victims of natural and man-made disasters; by providing assistance to the poor to alleviate their immediate needs; by supporting self-help programs which involve people and communities in their own development; by helping those it serves to restore and preserve their dignity and to realize their potential; by collaborating with religious and nonsectarian persons and groups of goodwill in programs and projects which contribute to a more equitable society; by helping to educate the people of the United States to fulfill their moral responsibilities in alleviating human suffering, removing its causes and promoting social justice.

Contact Information

Full Mailing Address:
209 West Fayette Street
Baltimore, MD 21201-3443


Phone Number:
410-625-2220 / 800-235-2772

Fax Number:

Email Address:


    Activity Detail(s)

  • Mine Risk Education

    Country(ies) of Operation

  • Cambodia
  • Ethiopia
  • Pakistan
  • USA
  • Zambia
  • Other
  • Albania
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bangladesh
  • Bosnia-Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Chad
  • Croatia
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • Eritrea
  • Georgia
  • Ghana
  • Guatemala
  • India
  • Iraq
  • Kenya
  • Lebanon
  • Sierra Leone
  • South Africa
  • Taiwan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Uganda
  • Vietnam
  • Zimbabwe
  • Angola
  • Brazil
  • Burkina Faso
  • Colombia
  • Djibouti
  • Indonesia
  • Malawi
  • Philippines
  • Senegal
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Afghanistan
  • Armenia
  • El Salvador
  • Honduras
  • Nicaragua
  • Rwanda
  • Somalia
  • Kosovo, FYR
  • Laos
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Bolivia
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Congo, Democratic Republic of the
  • Congo, Republic of the
  • Cuba
  • Dominican Republic
  • Timor-Leste (East Timor)
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Haiti
  • Iran
  • Jordan
  • Korea, Democratic People's Republic of (North)
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Macedonia, FYR
  • Madagascar
  • Mali
  • Mexico
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Occupied Palestinian Territory
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Peru
  • Romania
  • Turkey
  • Venezuela
  • Gambia
  • Gaza Strip
  • Morocco
  • Togo
  • Burma (Myanmar)
  • Russian Federation

Back to Top