Computer Science Faculty Openings  

The Department of Computer Science will have openings to begin August 2021. Sign up below to be notified when positions are available. 

The JMU Computer Science department is a dynamic and supportive community with 19 full-time faculty members and approximately 650 undergraduate majors. We offer an online M.S. Degree in Information Security with approximately 40 students. We are dedicated to maintaining a culture that balances excellence in teaching and small class sizes with opportunities for faculty and student research. We have many active clubs and organizations including Women in Technology, Robotics, Forensics, Cyber Defense, and a student ACM chapter. Our students are actively involved outside the university as well, participating in ACM SIGSCE, regional and national cyber defense competitions, ACM programming competitions, the Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing, and the Richard Tapia Celebration of Diversity in Computing. The Department is an active member of the NCWIT Academic Alliance and one of the original Centers of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance Education. Additional information about the department is available at

JMU is a comprehensive public university, with an enrollment of over 20,000 undergraduate and 1,800 graduate students. JMU is regarded as an outstanding public university and has been cited in U.S. News and World Report, The Princeton Review, Center for World University Rankings, Changing Times, and Money Magazine.

Harrisonburg is a growing city of about 50,000 residents, located in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. The area is a popular tourist, resort, and retirement area thanks to its great scenic beauty, wealth of outdoor activities, and proximity to Washington, Richmond, and Roanoke, each about two hours away. Harrisonburg is a diverse community, with over 40 nationalities represented in the public schools, an annual international festival, and a variety of restaurants and shops serving the international community. Harrisonburg is part of a larger economic and cultural region that includes Staunton, Waynesboro, and Charlottesville.

James Madison University is an equal opportunity employer committed to creating and supporting a diverse and inclusive work and educational community that is free of all forms of discrimination. This institution does not tolerate discrimination or harassment on the basis of age, color, disability, gender identity, genetic information, national origin, parental status, political affiliation, race, religion, sex, sexual orientation, or veteran status.

We promote access, inclusion, and diversity for all students, faculty, staff, constituents, and programs, believing that these qualities are foundational components of an outstanding education in keeping with our mission. The University is interested in candidates whose experience and qualifications support an ongoing commitment to this core quality.

Anyone having questions concerning discrimination should contact the Office for Equal Opportunity: (540) 568-6991.

Back to Top