2024 Student Award Recipients

A list of awards and recipients of those awards for the 2024 academic year.

Eileen Nelson Scholarship for Senior Excellence

This scholarship recognizes exemplary involvement in the Honors Program, vigor in research and service, excellence in academics, and the intention to pursue graduate education in psychology.

2024 Award Recipient – Lindsay Bernstein

Casey Mitschele Dorsey Scholarship

This scholarship recognizes a student who has a record of exceptional performance among his or her peers.

2024 Award Recipient - Morgan Melchor

James O. Benedict Senior Teaching Scholarship

This award is given to an outstanding senior who has demonstrated interest in a career in higher education in psychology or who has shown excellence as a teaching assistant.

2024 Award Recipient - Emily Triplett

Virginia Andreoli Mathie Scholarship

This scholarship honors academic achievement and a demonstrated commitment to collaboration through service and research among rising seniors.

2024 Award Recipient - Sara Buie

Jerry O. Haynes Memorial Award for an Outstanding Senior

This memorial award honors graduating seniors who possess outstanding records of achievement in academics, service, and research. *Prior to 2024, this award was called *Jerry O. Haynes Memorial Award for Outstanding Seniors*

<u> 2024 Award Recipient – Lindsay Bernstein</u>

Joel D. West Senior Distinguished Service Award

This award recognizes seniors who demonstrate commitment to the field of psychology through related service activities.

2024 Award Recipient – Emily Triplett

Senior Award for Achievement in Research

This award is given to senior students who have demonstrated significant achievement in research projects.

<u> 2024 Award Recipient – Hannah Dodson</u>

Senior Award for Academic Achievement

This award is given to seniors who have demonstrated significant overall academic achievement in their studies, especially in psychology.

2024 Award Recipients – Savannah Hoover and Katelyn Morgan

Joann H. Grayson Outstanding Field Placement Award

Our students complete thousands of hours of service to the community in various settings. Award winners distinguish themselves by their commitment, use of psychological theory, and professional performance.

2024 Award Recipient - Olivia Sandoval

Outstanding Senior Thesis Award

Each year the Department of Psychology faculty recognize one completed thesis project for this award.

*Not awarded in 2024

James J. Hart Memorial Scholarship

This memorial scholarship honors outstanding performance among junior psychology majors.

2024 Award Recipient – Sara Buie

Leadership and Service Scholarship

This scholarship recognizes students who demonstrate core leadership values of service, attitude, teamwork, and excellence. *Prior to 2024, this award was called *JMU Leadership and Service Scholarship*

2024 Award Recipient - Kendall Hewitt

Junior Award for Achievement in Teaching

This award is given to juniors who have demonstrated significant achievement as a teaching assistant.

2024 <u>Award Recipient – Alexandra Sheffield</u>

LeAnn Whitlock Memorial Scholarship

LeAnn Whitlock's family and friends created a scholarship fund to honor her and to recognize distinguished academic performance and service to the university by a minority student.

<u>2024 Award Recipient – Khadijah Barnes</u>

Thomas E. & Sherry Woodroof Rogowski Scholarship

This scholarship recognizes students who have a record of exceptional experiences and performance.

2024 Award Recipient – Chubiyojo Abu

Junior Award for Outstanding Research

This award is given to juniors who have demonstrated significant achievement in undergraduate research projects. *Prior to 2024, this award was called *Junior Award for Achievement in Research*

<u>2024 Award Recipient – Rachel Jones</u>

Outstanding Achievement in Statistics and Research Methods

This award is given to students who showed significant talent in methodology courses through creativity, diligence, and design.

<u>2024 Award Recipients – Jenna Mann, Sara Buie, Zach Baron, Jaden Case, and Shannon Brown</u>