Cover Photo Image

The Centennial Scholars Program has been recognized for its dedication to college seeking students by providing academic and financial assistance to the future leaders of tomorrow. We are proud to have excellent students recognized in newspapers and magazines for their contributions at James Madison University.  

Listed below please find news and accomplishments on the CSP program and outstanding CSP students


  • Donatine Afful (CSP Class of 2017) has been accepted into the Alabama College of Asteopathic Medicine and began his program this past summer. 
  • Jazmine Otey (CSP Class of 2020) was an editorial intern in University Communications and Marketing last semester. Jazmine was a senior media arts and design major with a concentration in journalism and a minor in writing, rhetoric and technical communication. Enamored with writing since a young age, Otey has written for her hometown newspaper in Roanoke, Virginia, and reported in Urbino, Italy, last summer during JMU’s multimedia journalism program abroad. She wrote Faculty Focus on Page 10 and about JMU employees earning various awards on. Check out Jazmine's work here!


  • Pierre Mbala was featured on the front page of The Breeze for his work fundraising for education in the Democratic Republic of the Congo through jewlery.
  • CHBSChats with Shay Lumpkin, Learn about how Shay has fully embraced the psychology major.
  • Current CSP Student, Zeru Tadesse, has recieved an internship with Qualcomm in California for summer 2020.
  • Anthony Mujica (CSP Class of 2013) was featured by JMU as an  Alumni Success Story for his work at Inova Medical Group.
  • Tiffany Diggs (CSP Class of 2018) was featured in a Breeze article about graduating from JMU debt-free.
  • Jacob Meadows and O'nae Harris were honored by the Office of Admissions for dedicating the most time to the spring 2019 Phone-A-Thon.


  • Lauren Pope (CSP Class of 2017) received the National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship for her research at Stanford University. The program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master's and doctoral degrees at accredited United States institutions.
  • Justin Albert-Thomas, Averie Jackson, Tonisha Jones, John Lopez-Najarro, Haley Paterson, Tiffany Rodrigeuz, Joshua Smith, and Ashawrie White served as marshals in the December 2018 Commencement Ceremony.
  • Sakira Coleman has been recognized as the 2018 Newman Civic Fellow Campus Compact recepient. 
  • Desiree Edemba has been selected as the student representative on the JMU Board of Visitors for the 2018-2019 school year.


  • Current CSP students, Atabongkeng Atabong (Argentina), MeShawn Macklin (Ghana), Dezarae Murchinson (Ghana) and Cindy Ramirez (Spain) have been awarded the Gillman Scholarship to study abroad during the summer of 2018. 
  • Sunil Devkota (CSP Class of 2017) has been accepted to the University of Louisville Kentucky School of Osteopathic Medicine.
  • Lauren Pope (CSP Class of 2017) has been accepted to Stanford University with a full scholarship to earn a Master's and Doctorate degree in Biology.
  • Courtney Braxton (CSP Class of 2011) recently completed her doctorate in Chemical Biology.

2012 - 2013





Back to Top