[Catalog Icon]

1994-95 University Calendar

This year JMU has selected as its theme

Technology and the Human Interface

For detailed dates and times regarding payment and adjustment of tuition and fees, registration for courses and making course adjustments, please see the applicable Schedule of Classes.
Fall 1994 Semester                     Fall 1994 Schedule of Classes
  (including first and second blocks)
Spring 1995 Semester                 Spring 1995 Schedule of Classes
  (including third and fourth blocks)
Summer Session 1995                  Summer 1995 Schedule of Classes

Fall Semester


Aug. 27, Saturday

Residence halls open 9 a.m. for freshmen.

Dining hall opens and fall meal plans begin 8 a.m.

Freshman Convocation 6 p.m.

Aug. 28, Sunday

Residence halls open 9 a.m. for transfers and returning students.

Aug. 29, Monday

Registration and fee payment.

Evening classes (those beginning 5 p.m. or later) meet as scheduled.

Freshman Assessment Day.

Aug. 30, Tuesday

Classes meet as scheduled.

Sept. 5, Monday

Last day to submit an application for a degree if graduation requirements are to be met in October.

Sept. 12, Monday

Last day to withdraw from the university with tuition adjustment or refund.

Last day for graduate students to register.

Sept. 20-22, Tuesday-Thursday

Arts and Sciences Symposium, "The Problem of Technological Imperative and the Issues of Ethical Choice."

Oct. 3, Monday

Last day to submit an application for a degree if graduation requirements are to be met in December.

Oct. 14, Friday

First block courses end.

Oct. 14-16, Friday-Sunday

Parents Weekend.

Oct. 18, Tuesday

Second block courses begin.

Oct. 20, Thursday

Mid-semester grades due in the Office of Registration and Records.

Oct. 22, Saturday

Homecoming.

Oct. 3l, Monday

First semester holiday. Classes (undergraduate and graduate) do not meet.

Nov. l, Tuesday

First block course grades due in the Office of Registration and Records.

Nov. 2, Wednesday

Registration begins for 1995 spring semester.

Nov. 22, Tuesday

Modified class schedule. Classes meet which would have met Friday, Nov. 25 if it were not a Thanksgiving holiday.

Dining hall closes 6:30 p.m.

Nov. 23, Wednesday

Thanksgiving vacation begins and residence halls close 8 a.m.

Nov. 27, Sunday

Residence halls open noon.

Dining hall opens 4 p.m.

Nov. 28, Monday

Classes resume.

Dec. 2, Friday

Last day for students to submit work to faculty for 1994 spring semester and 1994 May or summer session "incomplete" grades.

Dec. 8, Thursday

Last day of classes.

Dec. 9, Friday

Reading Day.

Last day for faculty to turn in removal of "incomplete" grades for 1994 spring semester and 1994 May or summer session to the Office of Registration and Records.

Dec. 10, 12-16, Saturday, Monday-Friday

Final examinations.

Dec. 16, Friday

Deadline for completion of all degree requirements for master's and Ed.S. December graduates. All "I" grades (including final semester) must be completed and grades turned into the Office of Registration and Records.

Residence halls close 5 p.m. Dining hall closes and fall meal plans end 2 p.m.

Graduation. Commencement exercises 3 p.m., Convocation Center.

Spring Semester


Jan. 8, Sunday

Residence halls open 9 a.m. for new transfer students. Residence halls open noon for returning students.

Dining hall opens and spring meal plans begin 4 p.m.

Jan. 9, Monday

Registration and fee payment.

Evening classes (those beginning 5 p.m. or later) meet as scheduled.

Jan. 10, Tuesday

Classes meet as scheduled.

Jan. 23, Monday

Last day to withdraw from the university with tuition adjustment or refund.

Last day for graduate students to register.

Jan. 30, Monday

Last day to submit an application for a degree if graduation requirements are to be met in March.

Feb. 13, Monday

Last day to submit an application for a degree if graduation requirements are to be met by the end of 1995 spring semester.

Feb. 2l, Tuesday

Last day for returning students to submit housing contracts.

Feb. 22, Wednesday

Student Assessment/Faculty Assistance (no classes 8 a.m.-5 p.m).

Feb. 27, Monday

Third block courses end.

March 3, Friday

Mid-semester grades due in the Office of Registration and Records.

Mid-semester recess begins 5 p.m.

Dining hall closes 2 p.m.

Residence halls close 5 p.m.

March 12, Sunday

Residence halls open noon. Dining hall opens 4 p.m.

March 13, Monday

Third block course grades due in the Office of Registration and Records.

Classes resume.

Fourth block courses begin.

March 15, Wednesday

Founders Day.

March 17, Friday

Last day for returning students to submit room deposits and tuition deposits.

Last day for returning students to cancel housing contracts.

April 4, Tuesday

Registration begins for 1995 fall semester.

April 10, 12 and 17, 19, Monday and Wednesday

University housing reservation process.

April 21, Friday

Last day for students to submit work to faculty for 1994 fall semester "incomplete" grades.

April 27, Thursday

Last day of classes.

April 28, Friday

Reading Day.

Last day for faculty to turn in removal of "incomplete" grades for 1994 fall semester to the Office of Registration and Records.

April 29, May 1-5, Saturday, Monday-Friday

Final examinations.

University housing check-out process.

May 5, Friday

Deadline for completion of all degree requirements for master's and Ed.S. May graduates. All "I" grades (including final semester) must be completed and grades turned into the Office of Registration and Records.

Residence halls close 5 p.m. for undergraduate students.

Dining hall closes 2 p.m. for undergraduate students.

May 6, Saturday

Graduation. Commencement exercises.

Residence halls close 3 p.m. for graduating seniors.

Dining hall closes and spring meal plans end 10 a.m. for graduating seniors.

Tentative 1995 Summer Session


First Four-Week Term

May 8, Monday

Registration.

May 9, Tuesday

Classes meet as scheduled.

May 29, Monday

Holiday. Classes (undergraduate and graduate) do not meet.

June 2, Friday

Final examinations for first four-week term.


Second Four-Week Term

June 5, Monday

Course changes and registration. Classes meet as scheduled.

June 30, Friday

Final examinations for second four-week term.


Third Four-Week Term

July 5, Wednesday

Course changes and registration. Classes meet as scheduled.

July 28, Friday

Final examinations for third four-week term.

Graduation.


First Six-Week Term

May 8, Monday

Course changes and registration. Classes meet as scheduled.

May 29, Monday

Holiday. Classes (undergraduate and graduate) do not meet.

June 16, Friday

Final examinations for first six-week term.


Second Six-Week Term

June 19, Monday

Course changes and registration. Classes meet as scheduled.

July 4, Tuesday

Holiday. Classes do not meet.

July 28, Friday

Final examinations for second six-week term.

Graduation.


Catalog Table of Contents

JMU Home Page

Last reviewed: Sept. 10, 1994
Information Publisher: Academic Services