Charge:  The Online Teaching and Learning Committee provides structure and coordination for initiatives that support success in online teaching and learning. Committee work is informed by and provides input on evolving decisions regarding JMU’s online learning strategy.

Specific areas of focus for the committee include:

  • Course development and instructional design
  • Faculty professional development and support
  • Online program development
  • Student support and success
  • Technology infrastructure and support

The committee reports to JMU’s Chief Online Learning Officer while working in collaboration with the Online Virginia Network and Online Policy, Accreditation and Compliance offices (housed within University Studies), and JMU’s Chief Academic Technology Officer.

  • Andrea Adams, Libraries, chair
  • Andreas Broscheid, Center for Faculty Innovation
  • Audrey Burnett, University Programs
  • Jim Bywater, Faculty Senate, College of Education
  • Sarah Cheverton, University Programs
  • Greg Hackbarth, IT-Computing Support
  • Leslie Harlacker, Faculty Senate, College of Arts and Letters
  • Bill Hartman, Libraries
  • Juhong Christie Liu, Libraries
  • Sarah MacDonald, Professional and Continuing Education
  • Laura Miller, Learning Centers
  • Valerie Schoolcraft, Office of Disability Services


Back to Top