Distinguished Speakers and Honors Committee Final Report – May 2022

Membership

Chair(s): Michael Klein

Members: Molly Brown, Harold Butner, Mike Davis, Carole Nash, Wren Stevens, and Emma Thacker

Charge: The Distinguished Speakers and Honors Committee coordinates the collation and dissemination of information about speakers and awards to the university community.

Summary of Current Semester Activity:

- Committee members were informed by the Chair that the university is continuing to work on revising the process for awarding honorary doctorates.
- The committee did not meet as there was no work to undertake until the revised process is approved.

Future Work Planned:

 With the approval of the revised version of Policy 2117 Honorary Degrees in April 2022, which includes a new committee structure, the current committee was disbanded as of May 2, 2022.