Joint Faculty Senate/Provost Shared Governance Implementation Team, AY 2024-25

Membership

Chair(s): Drs. Kristen McCleary and Elizabeth Oldmixon **Members:** John Allemeier, Audrey Burnett, Sasha Kokhan, Smita Mathur, Jessica Salvatore, Brian Sullivan, Rhonda Syler, Jeff Tang, Roger Thelwell, Bill White

Charge: The Joint Faculty Senate/Provost Academic Affairs Shared Governance Implementation Team continues the significant work of the Joint Faculty Senate/Provost Academic Affairs <u>Shared Governance Task Force</u>. Informed by the <u>Spring 2023 recommendations</u> and working closely with the co-chairs, this team assesses specific recommendations and sets goals and timelines for implementation.

Summary of Annual Activity:

- We drafted a shared governance statement that was endorsed by the Senate, Academic Council, and President King.
- We launched a new <u>shared governance webpage</u> for the division and a <u>new webpage</u> for the committee.
- We developed a shared governance survey and discussed plans for distribution. One committee member also developed an interactive game for facilitating shared governance conversations.
- We had in-depth discussions related to AA Policy No. 2, which emerged from original task force recommendations.
- We discussed several issues that will be the focus of next year's work, including budget transparency, guidelines and principles for unit-level voting, and joint work between Senate Steering and Academic Council.

Future Work Planned:

- We will continue to make progress on task force for recommendations.
- We will facilitate conversations on the status of shared governance at JMU.
- We will discuss when and how the group should hand over this project to other constituency groups.