Adjunct Faculty

Year Started at JMU: 2015

brennadj@jmu.edu

Contact Info

Education

M.F.A., Creative Writing with a concentration in Poetry, University of Alabama, 2007

B.A., Creative Writing and English Literature, Oberlin College, 2000

Professional Focuses

Contemporary poetics, music writing, Romanticism, the lyric essay

Publications

Books
If Beauty Has to Hide. Spuyten Duyvill. Due April, 2018. 
Murder Ballads: Exhuming the Body Buried Beneath Wordsworth’s Lyrical Ballads (creative criticism). Punctum Books.  Brooklyn, New York: 2016.
The White Visitation  (poetry). BlazeVox Books. Buffalo, New York: 2010. 

Chapbooks
The Family Flamboyant (poetry)Brickhouse Books. Baltimore, Maryland: 2011.

Essays 
Kyary Pamyu Pamyu.” One Week // One Band, August 26-30, 2013.
“Small Love Affairs Gone: Music, Memory, Missing.” Gadfly Magazine, March 2013. gadflyonline.com. 
We Are What We Here.” Coldfront Magazine, Poets Off Poetry Feature, September 19, 2012. 
“Yes, Father.” On Earth as It Is. onearthasitis.net: 2011. 
“Birdcatcher.” Stymie Magazine  3.2 stymiemag.com: 2010.

Poems 
“After,” “Death Bed 2,” “Saint of Swimming Goggles.” Claudius Speaks 3: 2017 
"Angus Fairhurst, When I woke up in the morning, the feeling was still there 3; Victor Newsome, Two Craters (Two Blind Holes).” Cooper Street 3: June, 2015. 
Anecdote of the Twice-Stuffed Moose.” BOAAT 5: April 2015. 
“How Are You?,” “Rather Than Build a Tower of Bones,” “Sucka MC.” B O D Y, April 17, 2013. http://bodyliterature.com/david-brennan/
“I am Tired of Watching.” Atticus Review, January 2013. http://atticusreview.org. 
Self Reproof.” Box of Jars 3: Fall 2013. boxofjars.com. 
“At the Concert.” Coldfront Magazine, Poets off Poetry Feature, September 19, 2012. http://coldfrontmag.com/poets-off-poetry. 
Robert Frost, OMG,” “Robert Frost, Robert Frost,” “It Is Winter, Robert Frost.” Heavy Feather Review 1.2: Summer 2012 
“Layman’s Trestle.” Grey Sparrow Journal. greysparrowpress.sharepoint.com: Summer 2012. 
“Dark Passenger.” Everyday Genius. www.everyday-genius.com. June 2011 
“If No One Ever Says My Name,” “The Land of Smiles.” Strange Machine 7 strange-machine.com: Summer 2011. 
“Cornus.” 751 Magazine 4. 751magazine.wordpress.com: 2011. 
“Film Study.” Milk Money 8: 2010. 
“Baby Steps.” Gertrude 15: 2010. 
“If No One Ever Says My Name,” “The Land of Smiles.” Strange Machine 5. strange-machine.com: 2010. 
“Homeric Morning,” “Song of the Lazy Prick,” “To Wait for Evening at Its Edge.” Fact-Simile 3.1: 2010. 
“The White Visitation.” Verse Daily, May 30, 2010.
 http://www.versedaily.org/2010/whitevisitation.shtml
“The Interrupter.” Dirtcakes 1.1: Summer 2010. 
“A Superior Garden,” “Adventure Story,” “Casting a Romantic Production,” “Ka-boom.” Beeswax Magazine 6: 2010. 
“What is the last note . . .,” “Don’t you dream of nothing . . .” Lonesome Fowl 2. lonesomefowl.com: 2010. 
“Fancy Digs,” “No Color Here,” “Self-Recovery.” Forge Journal 3.3. forgejournal.com: 2010. 
“When I Knew.” Poemeleon 4.1. poemeleon.org: 2009 
“Straight to Jesus.” New Verse News, December 9, 2009. newversenews.com. 
“Jesus Wordsworth,” “Meta Four,” “Space Monkey.” Suss: Another Literary Magazine. November 2009. sussitout.org. 
“Sore at the knees, dulcet . . .” Fogged Clarity September 2009. foggedclarity.com. 
“The Phobic and the Erotic,” “The Book of Weird Sex,” “Writing Desire,” “Sextacy,” “Impotence.” The Moose and Pussy 4: 2009. 
“Film Study,” “The Long Walk.” Dear Sir, 3. dearsir.org: 2009. 
“Cheerleading,” “Marriage Mart,” “Two Thieves.” KeepGoing 36. keepgoing.org: 2009. 
“Flaxen-haired farmboy . . .” demcomP June. decompmagazine.com: 2009. 
“Married to Eternity.” Phoenix 51: 11. Spring, 2009. 
“Brennan as Moon Crater,” “Flexibility.” 540 Magazine. Spring, 2009. 
“Heart Leap II: Buck Naked,” “A Lasting Mark,” “Race to the Prize.” Ugly Cousin. April 2009. uglycousin.com. 
“Lines of Tragedy and Light.” Black & White 7. blackandwhitejournal.com: 2009. 
“Carnal Knowledge,” “Transgender Warriors.” Breadcrumb Scabs 5: 12-13. breadcrumbscabs.com: 2009. 
“The Invention of Heterosexuality.” The Dirty Napkin 2.2. thedirtynapkin.com: 2009. 
“A Fable,” “Where Is the Captain?”  ApocryphalText 3. apocryphaltextpoetry.com: 2009. 
“In Memory of HAL.” Pank 3: 26-27. MTU Press: 2009. 
“On Captivity,” “Memoir,” “Brennan as Cherry Tree,” “A Plant in Winter.” BlazeVOX. Fall 2008. blazevox.org: 2008 
“Snow Fear” (excerpts). SOFTBLOW October 2007. softblow.org: 2007. 
“A Critic is Born” (as Ian Bean Moore). Blood Lotus 5.1. bloodlotus.org: 2007. 
“I Wrote This” (as Anonymous). H_NGM_N 6. h-ngm-n.com: 2007. 
“Derivatives.” Parthenon West Review 4: 131-132. 2006 

 

Back to Top