

# Recognition Reception October 8, 2018

Honoring all involved in the pursuit of external funding at James Madison University during Fiscal Year 2018 (July 1, 2017 - June 30, 2018)

# **Recognized Accomplishments**

\* Ist Time Award Recipients please see OSP staff before you leave for a congratulatory item

### **Cumulative Funding Tiers**

Faculty that have received an award in external funding during fiscal year 2018 as well as being awarded a cumulative total of at least the money tier amount throughout their career at James Madison University.

#### 20 Million Dollar Tier

Cheryl Henderson, Training/Technical Assistance Center

#### **15 Million Dollar Tier**

 Kim Hartzler-Weakely, Institute for Innovation in Health & Human Services

#### 10 Million Dollar Tier

- John McNaught, Training/Technical Assistance Center
- Ken Rutherford, Center for International Stabilization & Recovery
- Rhonda Zingraff, College of Health & Behavioral Studies

#### 5 Million Dollar Tier

- Bob Kolvoord, College of Integrated Science & Engineering
- Jonathan Miles, Integrated Science & Technology

#### 2 Million Dollar Tier

- Emily Akerson, Institute for Innovation in Health & Human Services
- Jennifer Coffman, Center for Global Engagement
- Benjamin Delp, Research & Scholarship

#### 2 Million Dollar Tier Continued

- Daniel Downey, Chemistry & Biochemistry
- Kim Foreman, School of Accounting
- Kevin Giovanetti, Physics & Astronomy Department
- M. Hossain Heydari, Computer Science
- Alleyn Harned, Virginia Clean Cities
- Joyce Krech, Small Business Development Center
- Michael Maurice, Institute for Innovation in Health & Human Services
- Gabriel Niculescu, Physics & Astronomy Department
- M. Ioana Niculescu, Physics & Astronomy Department
- Nick Swayne, College of Education

#### I Million Dollar Tier

- Robin Anderson, Graduate Psychology
- Kevin Caran, Chemistry & Biochemistry
- Suzanne Fiederlein, Center for International Stabilization & Recovery
- Clarence Geier, Emeritus
- M. Shaun Mooney, Valley Scholars
- Barbara Reisner, Chemistry & Biochemistry
- Kristen St. John, Geology & Environmental Science
- Brett Tjaden, Computer Science
- Anthony Tongen, College of Science & Mathematics
- Steven Whitmeyer, Geology & Environmental Science
- William Wood, Economics

#### \$500,000 Tier

- Nancy Barbour, Education Programs
- Tom DeVore, Chemistry & Biochemistry
- Heather Holsinger, Center for International Stabilization & Recovery
- Christine Hughey, Chemistry & Biochemistry
- Nusrat Jahan, Mathematics & Statistics
- Meghann McCoy, WMRA
- Debra Mohler, Chemistry & Biochemistry
- Jacquelyn Nagel, Engineering
- Robert Nagel, Department of Engineering
- Carole Nash, Integrated Science & Technology
- Cynthia O'Donoghue, Communication Sciences & Disorders
- Rocky Parker, Biology
- Jennifer Risser, Center for International Stabilization & Recovery
- Trevor Stokes, Graduate Psychology
- Xunhua Wang, Computer Science
- Jacqueline Williams, Kinesiology Department

#### Ist Time Proposal Submission at JMU

Faculty who submitted a proposal for the first time at JMU during fiscal year 2018

- Sarah R. Blackstone, Health Sciences
- Sharon L. Blatz, (Co-PI) Educational Foundations & Exceptionalities (Awarded in FY18)
- Marcus C. Davis, College of Science & Mathematics (Awarded in FY19)

- Rubén G. Graciani, School of Theater & Dance (Awarded in FY19)
- Dana Haraway (Co-PI), Education Programs
- Joy B. Harnage, (Co-PI) Nursing
- Elizabeth K. Herron, Nursing (Awarded in FY18)
- Robbie L. Higdon, (Co-PI) Middle, Secondary, & Mathematics Education (Awarded in FY19)
- Annette K. Hildabrand, (Co-PI) Office of Research Integrity
- Oliver J. Hyman, (Co-Pl) Biology
- Kim Yeonsoo, School of Communication Studies (Awarded in FY18)
- Deborah Kipps-Vaughan, Graduate Psychology
- Andrew S. Koch, (Co-PI) Institute of Certified Professional Managers (Awarded in FY19)
- William Latham, (Co-PI) Biology (Awarded in FY18)
- Sarah M. Lupo, Early, Elementary, & Reading Education
- Roderick H. MacDonald, Integrated Science & Technology
- Marianne Mason, Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
- Joi D. Merritt, (Co-PI) Early, Elementary, & Reading Education
- Julie A. Newman Strunk, (Co-PI) Nursing
- Paige M. Ober, (Co-PI) Center for Internal Stabilization & Recovery
- Steven L. Purcell, Education Support Center (Awarded in FY18)
- Jennifer E. Risser, (Co-PI) Center for International Stabilization & Recovery (Awarded in FY18)
- Ahmad Salman, (Co-PI) Integrated Science & Technology
- Mikaela L. Schmitt-Harsh, Interdisciplinary Liberal Studies (Awarded in FY19)

#### Ist Time Proposal Submission at JMU

continued

- David J. Shonk, (Co-PI) Hart School of Hospitality, Sport, & Recreation Management (Awarded in FY18)
- Yasmeen L. Shorish, Libraries & Educational Technologies (Awarded in FY19)
- Pamela M. Sullivan, Early, Elementary, & Reading Education
- Elizabeth A. Thompson, (Co-PI) Libraries & Educational Technologies (Awarded in FY19)
- Geralyn R. Timler, Communications Sciences & Disorders
- Xuebin Wei, Integrated Science & Technology
- Dee A. Weikle, Computer Science
- Terence Sean Yoo, (Co-PI) School of Art, Design, & Art History (Awarded in FY18)

#### Ist Time Award Recipients at JMU\*

Faculty who have been awarded external funding for the first time at JMU during fiscal year 2018 \* Ist Time Award Recipients please see OSP staff before you leave for a congratulatory item

- Ashleigh E. Baber, Chemistry & Biochemistry
- Audrey L. Barnes, School of Art, Design, & Art History
- Dannette Bronaugh, Educational Foundations & Exceptionalities
- Marcus C. Davis, College of Science & Mathematics
- Michael K. Davis, Office of the President
- Vesna Hart, Center for Global Engagement
- Brooks Hefner, English

- Elizabeth K. Herron, Nursing
- Nusrat Jahan, Mathematics & Statistics
- Yeonsoo Kim, School of Communication Studies
- Oleksandr Kokhan, Chemistry & Biochemistry
- Kristopher E. Kubow, Biology
- Jaime B. Lee, Communication Sciences & Disorders
- Erin G. Piker, Communication Sciences & Disorders
- Steven L. Purcell, Education Support Center
- Margaret F. Sloan, School of Strategic Leadership Studies
- David A. Stringham, School of Music
- Deborah C. Sturm, Graduate Psychology
- Baback Vaziri, Computer Information Systems & Business Analytics
- David M. Wang, Health Professions
- Cassandra L. Williams, Mathematics & Statistics

#### **Ist Year Faculty Recognition**

First year faculty members at JMU who either submitted a proposal for external

- Sara R. Blackstone, Health Science
- Marcus C. Davis, College of Science & Mathematics
- Rubén G. Graciani, School of Theater & Dance
- Chong Lee, Management
- Sarah M. Lupo, Early, Elementary, & Reading Education
- Joi D. Merritt, Early, Elementary, & Reading Education

# Award Announcements

## Research and Scholarship Outstanding Faculty Award Recipients

Presented by Tamara Hatch, Interim Director, Office of Sponsored Programs, Pre-Award

The Office of Sponsored Programs (OSP) asked Department Heads to nominate faculty within their department who met criteria areas in teaching, scholarship, service, and mentoring through their externally funded projects during fiscal year 2018. These nominations were forwarded to a selection committee made up of interdisciplinary faculty and staff members at JMU to represent a wide range of academic divisions. The committee members' award recommendations were the basis in selecting the final award recipients.

- Ashleigh E. Baber, Chemistry & Biochemistry Department
- Brooks E. Hefner, English Department
- M. Rockwell Parker, Biology Department
- Barbara A. Reisner, Chemistry & Biochemistry Department
- Morgan Steffen Wurch, Biology Department
- Laura H. Trull, Social Work







