Skip to Main Content

Office of Research and Scholarship

You are in the main content

Provost Award

2017 Award Winner

Dr. Paul Bogard,
Department of English

This year's award winner will be honored at the Faculty Awards and Retirement Recognition Luncheon on Wednesday, April 26, 2017 and receive a $1,000 honorarium.


To recognize a faculty member who has demonstrated significant achievement in research, scholarship, or creative work.


Excellence in faculty research, scholarship, and creative work prepares a diverse student population and inspires innovation. In order to integrate scholarship, service and teaching to enhance student learning and provide a challenging and supportive environment with a heightened sense of intellectual stimulation, the Provost’s Award for Excellence in Research and Scholarship recognizes innovative and sustained activities in scholarlypursuits across academic disciplines, including the arts and humanities. Recipients of the Award provide our students with a stimulating environment that fosters learning and affirms the University as an intellectual and cultural leader.  All faculty are eligible to apply.

Selection Criteria

Candidates are evaluated for qualifications in any of the following areas:

  • Demonstrating excellence in field of expertise, such as:

    • External recognition--impact on national and international discipline

    • Successful record of external funding

    • Record of excellence of creative works

  • Demonstration of scholarly achievements through peer-reviewed publications, and/or performances, exhibits, etc.

  • Engaging undergraduate and/or graduate students in applied creative work/scholarship and/or theoretical research activities

  • Implementing an interdisciplinary approach to research/creative work

  • Serving as a reviewer for funding agencies, scholarly publications, or other external academic organizations

  • Engaging in public service and outreach activities

  • Facilitating inquiry into effective models and implementation of innovative teaching methods which advance the scholarship of teaching and learning

    • Development of innovative models for advancing scholarship through service

    • Developing relationships and increased visibility with off-campus organizations through scholarly/creative achievements

  • Serving and leading on college, university, regional, national, or international committees focused on scholarship and creative work

Nomination Materials

Nominations will be accepted from students, colleagues, department heads, alumni, and colleagues from other institutions. Self-nominations are also welcome. Nominators are responsible for working with the nominee to assemble a packet that must include a current CV, a cover letter highlighting the scholarly activities of the nominee, and no more than two letters of support (letters from and signed by an entire department will count as one letter of support). A portion of the cover letter must connect the nominee’s work to the JMU mission statement, vision statement, or strategic plan. Please submit all nomination materials as a single PDF file.

Selection Process

  • Submit applications electronically to Benjamin Delp, Director of Research Development and Promotion,, by Monday, February 13, 2017.

  • A selection committee consisting of members of the Faculty Research Council will review applications and provide a recommendation to the Provost.

  • All nominees will be notified of the status of their nomination by Monday, March 6, 2017.

  • Award winners will be honored at the Faculty Awards and Retirement Recognition luncheon on Wednesday, April 26, 2017 and receive a $1,000 honorarium. 

Award Winners

2017 - Dr. Paul Bogard

2016 - Dr. Kenn Barron

2015 - Dr. Steve Whisnant

2014 - Dr. Conley McMullen

2013 - Dr. Louise Temple

2012 - Dr. Kevin Giovanetti

2011 - Dr. Ioana Niculescu

2010 - Col. (Ret.) Dennis Barlow

2009 - Dr. Reid Harris

2008 - Dr. Steven Evans

2007 - Ms. Patricia Buennemeyer

Please visit the Office of the Provost website for more information on the Provost Awards. Direct any questions or requests for information to Benjamin Delp,