Presidential Search Committee Minutes

October 28, 2011

No. 6

Minutes of the Meeting of October 2011 (Draft)

The Presidential Search Committee appointed by the Rector of the Visitors of James Madison University met on Friday, October 28, 2011 in the Festival Conference and Student Center Board Room on the campus of James Madison University. Mr. Joseph Damico, Chair, called the meeting to order at 11:00 am.


  • Brodrick Hartman, Christie-Joy
  • Jerome, Robert
  • Lovell, Sharon
  • Lovin, LouAnn
  • Reese, Andrew
  • Strickler, Judith
  • Langridge, Nick, Secretary



  • Coleman, Warren, 410 N. Ridge Road Suite 100, Richmond, VA 23229
  • Damico, Joseph, Chair, 272 East Deerpath Rd., Suite 350, Lake Forest, IL 60045
  • Hartman, James, Rector, 155 Rockledge Circle, Allenspark, CO 80510
  • Offley, Jon, 417 E. Fayette Street, Suite 1210, Baltimore, MD 21202
  • Rivers, Wharton, 21 Kiskadee Lane, Houston, TX 77058
  • Thomas, Michael, 10737 Midsummer Drive, Reston, VA 20191


  • Egle, Don, Director of Public Affairs and University Spokesperson
  • Greenwood, Janet, Greenwood/Asher & Associates
  • Holley, Julie, Greenwood/Asher & Associates


Chairman Damico called for approval of the September 14, 2011 minutes. Judy Strickler motioned to approve, Sharon Lovell seconded and the committee voted to approve the minutes.

Chairman Damico then called for the Committee to move into Closed Session. Mrs. Strickler made the following motion:

“I move to go into closed session pursuant to Section 2.2-3711.A.1 to discuss personnel matters; more specifically, to discuss matters necessarily involving identification of individual applicants or candidates for presidency of the university.”

The motion was seconded by Mr. Coleman and the Committee moved into closed session.

Following the closed session, Mr. Damico then stated the following:

During the closed session, the Committee discussed only matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements and only those types of matters identified in the motion for the closed session.

RECORDED VOTE: the following is an affirmative recorded, member by member vote:

  • Brodrick Hartman, Christie-Joy
  • Coleman, Warren
  • Damico, Joseph, Chair
  • Hartman, James, Rector
  • Jerome, Robert
  • Lovell, Sharon
  • Lovin, LouAnn
  • Offley, Jon
  • Reese, Andrew
  • Rivers, Wharton
  • Strickler, Judith
  • Thomas, Mike


Mrs. Strickler then announced that the Search Committee will meet at an undisclosed place in an undisclosed location within the next 15 days for the sole purpose of interviewing candidates for the presidency of the university.


There being no further business, on motion of Mr. Damico, seconded by Mr. Rivers, the Committee voted to adjourn. The meeting was adjourned at 12:50 pm.