Madison Scholar

Madison Scholarly News—February 2009


Dr. Clarence R. Geier (Professor, Anthropology) received $46,846 from Carmeuse Lime & Stone to address the archaeological recovery, interpretation, analysis and report preparation phases for two historically significant archaeological sites that will be affected by planned quarry construction.

Jane Hubbell (Associate Director, Institute for Innovation in Health and Human Services), Christopher B. Nye (Associate Director, Institute for Innovation in Health and Human Services) and Gary S. Race (Fiscal Technician, Institute for Innovation in Health and Human Services) received $5,000 from the Virginia Department of Health to provide primary medical care, medications, dental care, case management, transportation, nutritional supplements and food, substance abuse and mental health services for the HIV Consortium for Northwest Region.

Dr. Christine L. May (Faculty Research Associate, Stream Ecology, Geology and Environmental Science) received $4,400 from the U.S. Geological Survey for "The Influence of Sediment Deposition on the Emergence Success of Juvenile Salmonids."

Dr. Jonathan J. Miles (Professor, Integrated Science and Technology) received $74,404 from the U.S. Department of Energy to establish goals and objectives and to provide leadership in support of curriculum development that addresses issues and technologies pertinent to wind power, to interact with potential stakeholders at other higher-education institutions and to collaborate with mid-Atlantic wind working groups.

Kenneth F. Newbold Jr. (Director of Research Development, Research and Public Service) received $1,996 from the All Hazards Consortium for two undergraduate students to participate in the AHC Border Coordination Summit.

Christopher B. Nye (Associate Director, Institute for Innovation in Health and Human Services) received $50,000 from the Virginia Department of Health to work with the Home Visiting Consortium to identify the core Virginia Home Visiting training and to plan for training all Virginia Home Visitors on core competencies.

Dr. Cynthia R. O'Donoghue (Associate Professor, Communication Sciences and Disorders) received $4,994 from the Virginia Department of Education to conduct an introductory-intermediate-level seminar that discusses the essential components for evaluating dysphagia in schools via the VDOE Dysphagia Best Practice Guidelines.

Dr. Olga Pierrakos (Assistant Professor, Engineering) received $400,000 from the National Science Foundation to understand what students learn during undergraduate research and industry experiences and how they use and transfer complex solving problem skills in new settings.

Dr. Terrie K. Rife (Assistant Professor, Biology) and Dr. Jonathan D. Monroe (Professor, Biology) received $97,204 from the National Science Foundation for the Shenandoah Valley Consortium in Molecular Biology to provide students with research experiences with faculty mentors that expose them to ethical issues in science and give them practice in communicating scientific ideas.

Dr. J. Barkley Rosser Jr. (Professor, Economics; Kirby L. Cramer Jr. Professor of Business Administration) received $36,500 from the Journal of Economic Behavior and Organization to support production of the professional journal in 2009.

Dr. James M. Shaeffer (Associate Vice Provost, Outreach and Engagement) received $19,116 from the U.S. Army to provide a Strategic Communications course for Army personnel.

Dr. Megan E. Tracy (Assistant Professor, Anthropology) received $8,070 from the National Science Foundation to conduct research on changes in conceptions of accountability and transparency due to the ongoing melamine scandal in China's dairy industry.



Dr. Dolores L. Flamiano (Associate Professor, Media Arts and Design) has been selected to receive a summer stipend from the National Endowment for the Humanities for her project, "A Good Picture is Hard to Kill: Hansel Mieth and Social Reform Photojournalism, 1934-1949," about the photojournalist who worked on the staff of LIFE magazine. Flamiano's work is designated a "We the People" project that encourages the teaching, study and understanding of American history and culture. Flamiano is the third JMU faculty member to receive the NEH summer stipend.

Dr. Christine M. Robinson (Assistant Professor, Sociology and Interdisciplinary Liberal Studies) was selected for a 2009 Monette-Horwitz Trust Award for her research and service in support of the LGBTQ community and in combating homophobia. The awardees will be announced at the 2009 Lambda Literary Awards ceremony in New York.



Dr. Benjamin D. Brewer (Assistant Professor, Sociology) presented a paper, "Global Commodity Chains, Income Inequalities and World-Systems Analysis: The Missing Link of Inequality and the Upgrading Paradox," at the "Losing Our Chains: Rethinking the Commodity Chain through Disarticulations" workshop, held at Florida Atlantic University in February.

Dr. Young B. Choi (Assistant Professor, Computer Information Systems and Management Science) presented "Network Security for Cyber War," with Matthew Diana and Allison Johnson, at the 39th Annual Meeting of the Southeast Decision Sciences Institute, held in Charleston, S.C., Feb. 18-20.

Dr. Bernd Kaussler (Assistant Professor, Political Science) presented a paper, "Economic Survival versus Deterrence: Iran's Ambiguous Persian Gulf Policy," at the Naval Academy's "Gulf and the Globe Conference," held in Annapolis in January.

Dr. Fletcher Linder (Director, Interdisciplinary Liberal Studies; Associate Professor, Anthropology) wrote a paper, "Crafting Big Bodies: Reaching for Beauty, Struggling with Justice," which was presented by Stephanie Sadre-Orafai of New York University at the American Anthropological Association Conference, held in San Francisco in November 2008.

Dr. John Scherpereel (Assistant Professor, Political Science) presented a paper, "Religion, Politics and Belonging in the EU-27 and Turkey: Worlds Apart?" at the International Studies Association annual meeting, held in New York in February.

Dr. Yi Edward Yang (Assistant Professor, Political Science) and Dr. Jonathan W. Keller (Assistant Professor, Political Science) presented their paper, "Problem Representation and the Poliheuristic Theory of Decision-making," at the 2009 meeting of the International Studies Association, held in New York Feb. 15-18.



Dr. Scott J. Hammond (Professor, Political Science) wrote "Earthborn from the Same Mother: Another Look at Elements of Equality within Plato's Political Vision," which was published in Polis. Hammond also has an encyclopedia of Political Theory now in print from Greenwood Press.

Dr. Jonathan W. Keller (Assistant Professor, Political Science) and Dr. Yi Edward Yang (Assistant Professor, Political Science) wrote an article, "Empathy and Strategic Interaction in Crises: An Poliheuristic Perspective," which was published in Foreign Policy Analysis, 5(2), 77-97.

Dr. Chris J. Koski (Assistant Professor, Political Science) wrote, with Christian Breunig, an article, "Punctuated Budgets and Governors' Institutional Powers," which was published in American Politics Research. Koski also wrote, with Breunig and Peter Mortenson, an article, "Budget Dynamics in Comparative Perspective," which was published in the International Review of Comparative Politics.



Sam Hunter (Graduate Student, Art and Art History) received one of six Virginia Museum of Fine Arts Fellowships awarded annually and announced in February. The $6,000 award is for those who "demonstrate exceptional creative ability." Hunter is a second-year MFA student concentrating in intermedia. Her award is in the area of mixed media.