Scholarly News Archive

Madison Scholarly News — January 2007


Dr. Nikitah Okembe-RA Imani (Associate Professor, Sociology) won the Sociologists Without Borders essay competition on the subject envisioning the utopian university. The essay was called "The Learning Platform."


Dr. Laura A. Lewis (Associate Professor, Anthropology) won a $40,000 National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowship to finish work on her second book, "History, Race and Place in the Making of Black Mexico."


Dennis C. Barlow (Director, Mine Action Information Center) received $19,887 from the U.S. Department of State through the Polus Center for Social and Economic Development Inc. to create a new executive-level introductory course module and to issue specific workshops on land mine survivor assistance for country mine action administrators.

Dr. Morgan C. Benton (Assistant Professor, Integrated Science and Technology) received $37,500 from the Department of Historic Resources to provide a historical highway marker Web site and database.

Dr. Clarence R. Geier (Professor, Anthropology) received three awards from the Shenandoah Valley Battlefields Foundation — $17,906 to complete the archaeological excavation and survey of the Fair Meadows property on the Cedar Creek Battlefield, $9,696 to complete a comprehensive metal detector reconnaissance on the Valley Turnpike parcel of Fisher's Hill Battlefield in Shenandoah County and $5,872 to complete a cultural resources survey of the Artillery Ridge parcel of Cross Keys Battlefield east of Harrisonburg.

Paul B. Goodall (Instructor, Integrated Science and Technology) received $22,925 from AgWater Technologies LLC to provide opportunities for undergraduate students to conduct water testing.

Elizabeth Haworth (Assistant Director, Furious Flower Poetry Center) and Julie Caran (Editorial Assistant, Furious Flower Poetry Center) received $6,000 from R.R. Donnelley & Sons Co. to support a poetry camp for disadvantaged children.

Judy B. Kidd (Assistant Professor, Mathematics and Statistics) received $8,963 from the Virginia Department of Education to produce "highly qualified teachers" of mathematics at the middle-school level.

Dr. Joy J. Moody (Director, Education Support Center) received $58,588 from the Virginia Department of Education to extend the clinical faculty training provided by the Mid Valley Consortium for Teacher Education into schools as a component of mentor training.

Christopher B. Nye (Executive Director, Blue Ridge Area Health Education Center) and Jane Hubbell (Adjunct Assistant Professor, Institute for Innovation in Health and Human Services) received $42,281 from the Virginia Department of Health to provide administrative and planning services for the HIV Consortium for the Northwest Region to improve the quality, availability and organization of health care and support services for individuals with HIV disease in the region.

Christopher B. Nye (Executive Director, Blue Ridge Area Health Education Center) received $35,100 from the Harrisonburg-Rockingham Free Clinic to provide volunteer outpatient health services.

Dr. Judith T. Rocchiccioli (Professor, Nursing) received $14,038 from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services for "Advanced Education Nursing Traineeship Stipend for Underserved Rural Virginia" to request traineeship for 27 full-time and 11 part-time graduate nursing students.

Dr. Sheena J. Rogers (Head and Professor, Graduate Psychology) received $2,000 from the American Psychological Association to integrate broader experiences into graduate psychology practica by supporting student visits to potential partner institutions.

Dr. J. Barkley Rosser Jr. (Kirby L. Cramer Chair of Business Administration; Professor, Economics) received $29,644 from the Journal of Economic Behavior and Organization for editorial services.


Dr. Nikitah Okembe-RA Imani (Associate Professor, Sociology) presented a paper, "Ma'atematikos: Ancient Afrikan Spiritual Mathematics as a Method of Liberation or 'The Only Question You Can't Seem to Ask Your Math Teacher—Why?" at the 13th National African American Student Leadership Conference Jan. 12 in Holly Springs, Miss. Imani also presented an Honors Symposium, "Peripheral Vision: A Case Against the Culture of Victimization and Political Correctness," at JMU Jan. 24.

Dr. Laura A. Lewis (Associate Professor, Anthropology) presented "African-descent Mexicans and African-Americans in Winston-Salem, N.C.: Tales from the Field" on the panel Approaching New Subjectivities: African-American/Latino Relations in the 20th Century, American Historical Association Meetings in January.

Dr. Amy Paugh (Assistant Professor, Anthropology) presented a paper, "Learning About Work at Dinnertime: Language Socialization in U.S. Working Families," at the American Anthropological Association Annual Meeting in San Jose, Calif., in November.

Dr. J. Peter Pham (Director, Nelson Institute for International and Public Affairs; Assistant Professor, Justice Studies, Political Science and Africana Studies) was a panelist in a discussion on "Africa from the Perspective of U.S. Global Strategic Interests" held Jan. 16 at the annual membership meeting of the National Committee on American Foreign Policy in New York City. Pham discussed terrorism and other security issues relating to U.S. interests in Africa and urged closer attention to low-intensity conflicts and local tensions that might be exploited by outside actors. On Jan. 27, Pham presented "Threats to Africa's Future: Underdevelopment, Radical Islamism and Terrorism – Why Should the U.S. Care?" at the three-day Global Democracy Conference at Hampden-Sydney College. Richard Holbrooke, former U.S. ambassador to the United Nations, was the keynote speaker for the conference, which was sponsored by Hampden-Sydney and Longwood University.


Dr. Steven D. Anderson (Professor, Media Arts and Design) was one of four writers whose textbook, "Exploring Electronic Media: Chronicles and Challenges," was published by Blackwell Publishing in December 2006. Anderson wrote the book that introduces students to electronic media with Peter Orlik of Central Michigan University, Louis A. Day of Louisiana State University and W. Lawrence Patrick, president of Patrick Communications LLC and owner of 16-station radio group Legend Communications.

Scholarly News Archive