JMU group standing behind NCUR banner

JMU Well-Represented at National Research Conference

Eight JMU students recently presented their research at the National Conference on Undergraduate Research at Weber State University in Ogden, Utah.

Students standing on rocks with picturesque sky in the background
Photo courtesy of Brandon Journell.

The students who presented their research and their research topics were:

  • Rachel Boyell, Is It Worth the Sweat? A Natural Experiment on Employment and Worker's Rights Caused by Sweatshops in Santa Ana and San Miguel, El Salvador
  • Matthew Burton, Time of Flight Detector for the Superhigh Momentum Spectrometer at Jefferson Laboratory
  • Matthew Chamberlin, Electrical Characterization of ZN and ZNO Nanowires Grown on Pedot:PSS Conductive Thin Films by Phyisical Vapor Deposition
  • Phillip Chambers, Using Inductively Coupled Plasma-mass Spectrometry to Analyze the Elemental Composition of Didymosphenia Geminate
  • Brandon Deyerle, Hofmeister Anion Effects on the Phase Behaviors of PEO-PPO-PEO Triblock Copolymers
  • Brandon Journell, Characterization of Thin-Film Bismuth Vanadium Oxide (BIVOX) semiconductors for photoelectrolysis applications
  • Nora Swisher, Characterizing the Movement of Grains in a 2D Rotating Drum With Imposed Vibrations
  • Allison Wickham, Novel Method of Nitrate-Nitrogen Determination in Soils by Ion Chromatography

This year's conference drew participants from more than 400 colleges and universities representing almost every state. Since its inception in 1987, NCUR has become a major annual event drawing more than 2,500 undergraduates, faculty and administrators to hear and discuss undergraduate creative scholarly work. In addition, NCUR presents an opportunity to hear nationally prominent speakers and to discuss educational policy, programs and funding for undergraduate scholarly work.

The students were accompanied by Dr. Keith Holland, assistant professor of engineering, and Patricia Buennemeyer, director of research compliance in the JMU Office of Sponsored Programs.