College of Business AIS Students Win Big in Stewart Project Competition


AIS Students Win Stewart CompetitionThis past summer, undergraduate students (pictured at left, along with Professor Hayes) Tim Cona, Jordan Molnar, Mike Ketchersid, and Drew Askew won the Jack and Maye Stewart Student Project Competition for a video the team designed in Professor David Hayes’s Accounting Information Systems class.  Their project investigated the embezzlement case of former Virginia Secretary of Finance John Forbes and culminated in a video report on the details of the story.

On behalf of his students, Professor Hayes submitted the video to the Jack and Maye Stewart Project Competition, a contest that recognizes the outstanding work done by students in Accounting Information Systems classes. As one of the top three projects, the group received $200 and each member of the group was given a plaque to commemorate this honor.

In June, Professor Hayes presented the students’ winning video at the AIS Educators Conference in Laramie, Wyoming.  

The College of Business congratulates Tim Cona, Jordan Molnar, Mike Ketchersid, Drew Askew, and Professor David Hayes on this accomplishment.

To view the winning video submission, follow the link below:

Published: Wednesday, September 4, 2013

Last Updated: Wednesday, June 8, 2016

Back to Top

    Related Articles

  • Kiersten Schierenbeck standing on a balcony From the Textbook to Real Life

    As an intern working for an Amazon fulfillment center, Andrew Garrison, a rising senior management major, works where inventory is stored and prepared for shipping to customers. ...

  • Generic CoB News Image Training Student Researchers

    A rising junior marketing major, Jami Adler already has co-authored a published research paper in her field - even before taking her first marketing course at JMU. ...

  • Generic Faculty Highlight Image Econ Professor Wins Top Research Award

    Dr. William C. Wood of the Economic Department at James Madison University (JMU) has been chosen to receive the top research award given by the National Association of Economic Educators (NAEE). ...