News

Who are our freshmen?


by Janet Smith

 

The James Madison University Class of 2018 – about 4,300 freshmen – are preparing for the 2014-15 academic year to start making their contributions to the university’s vibrant and welcoming campus.

While official enrollment figures are due after census days in September and October, a check of freshman class information reveals some interesting facts.

  • The most popular majors among freshmen declaring a major are nursing, biology, marketing, health sciences, finance, psychology, interdisciplinary liberal studies, management, accounting and engineering.
  • Freshmen come from 36 states and 35 countries.
  • Popular names among female class members are variations of Sara, variations of Catherine, variations of Rachel, Emily and variations of Hannah.
  • Popular male names are Matthew, John/Jonathan, Michael, Ryan and Nick/Nicholas.
  • There are 43 incoming students named Madison.

Important fall semester dates for freshmen are:

Tuesday and Wednesday, Aug. 19 and 20
Residence halls open for freshmen on assigned days

Friday, Aug. 22
Freshman Assessment Day

Monday, Aug. 25
Classes meet as scheduled

Friday-Sunday, Oct. 10-12
Family Weekend

Friday-Saturday, Oct. 31-Nov. 1
Homecoming

Saturday-Sunday, Nov. 22-30
Thanksgiving holiday

Monday, Dec. 1
Fall semester classes resume

Monday-Friday, Dec. 8-12
Final examinations

# # #

Aug. 14, 2014

Published: Thursday, August 14, 2014

Last Updated: Thursday, October 20, 2016

Back to Top

Related Articles