FORBES CENTER FOR THE PERFORMING ARTS

JAMES MADISON UNIVERSITY.

School of Music

presents

JMU Symphony Orchestra Honors Concert

Foster Beyers, conductor Tyrique Payne, saxophone Seohyun Park, piano

> Sunday, April 21, 2024 2 pm Concert Hall



There will be one 10-minute intermission.

Program

Bon Lanie Niide (b. 2002)

World Premiere Winner of the 2024 Student Orchestral Composition Competition

Piano Concerto, Op. 16

Edvard Grieg (1843-1907)

I. Allegro molto moderato

Seohyun Park, piano

Concerto for Alto Saxophone

Paul Creston (1906-1985)

- I. Energetic
- II. Meditative
- III. Rhythmic

Tyrique Payne, saxophone

10-Minute Intermission

Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64

Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)

- I. Andante–Allegro con anima
- II. Andante cantábile, con alcuna licenza
- III. Valse: Allegro moderato
- IV. Finale: Andante maestoso–Allegro vivace

Presentation of Awards

"Nimrod" from Enigma Variations

Edward Elgar (1857-1934)

Biographies

Lanie Niide is a contemporary composer and pianist currently studying at James Madison University. Born in Honolulu and raised in Kapa'a, Hawaii, her Hawaiian background, as well as her Asian inheritance has major roots in her compositions.

Seohyun (Sonia) Park, a South Korean pianist, has collaborated with musicians at James Madison University, including the wind symphony and symphonic band. She has garnered recognition through various national and international piano competitions. Park received instruction from esteemed JMU piano faculty Dr. Paulo Steinberg and Dr. Gabriel Dobner. She has also further refined her skills in masterclasses with Awadagin Pratt, Maria Yefimova, Gila Goldstein, and Michael Boyd. In Fall 2024, she will be pursuing a Master of Music Performance at the University of Texas at Austin under the guidance of Dr. Gregory Allen.

Tyrique Payne is Sophomore music performance major at James Madison University, currently studying with David Pope. He is the Alto Saxophonist in the Invicta Quartet. Tyrique has premiered works for Saxophone Quartet alongside the Invicta Quartet and continues to commission works to expand the saxophone repertoire.

Patrons are reminded to turn off all pagers, cell phones, personal computers, and any other electronic devices.

The unauthorized videotaping or any other recording of this production is strictly prohibited in adherence with Federal copyright laws.

Symphony Orchestra Personnel

Foster Beyers, conductor
Daniel Esperante, DMA graduate assistant

Sections members are listed in alphabetical order by last name.

Violin

Cecila Bolling Aidan Coleman Jonathan Colmenares

Marley Fritz Madeleine Gabalski Alex Goodell

Alex Goodell
Nathaniel Gordy
Aidan Hall
Audrey Jones
Addie King
Zoe Lovelace
Johnny Park
Anthony Parone
Jonathan Petrini

Zike Qi Sierra Rickard Patrick Shaughnessy*

Rachel Tan Madison Whitley

Viola

Elliot Drew Julia Johnson Micah Lee Ana Mooney Hannah Rahrig Sunny Robertello Emma Thomas

Cello

Chris Hall Julia King Vikram Lothe John Meshreky Danny Postlethwait Malia Walton

Bass

Tina Battaglia Gabriella Bieberich Jack Choi Michael Dean John Foley Nicholas Greer-Young Frankie Sellars

Flute

Daniel Esperante Joshua Lockhart Rebecca Needham

Oboe

Will Slopnick Andrew Welling

Clarinet

Ian Graff Geneva Maldonado

Bassoon

Michael Ross Tony Russo

Horn

Ainsley Hanson Gray Smiley Jacob Taylor Justin Ulmer

Trumpet

Olivia Ellsworth Taylor Lowry Micah Wingfield

Trombone

Nikhil Argade Alex Mizroch James Wilson

Tuba

Luke Armstrong

Timpani & Percussion

Richard Collister Grayson Creekmore Jonathan Ramirez Joshua Sheppard

Piano

Sarah Mason

^{*}Concertmaster