FORBES CENTER FOR THE PERFORMING ARTS JAMES MADISON UNIVERSITY.

School of Music

presents

JMU Jazz Ensemble Dr. Charles Dotas, *director*

Briar Woods HS Jazz Band 1 Duane Minnick, *director*

Tuesday, April 16, 2024 8 pm Concert Hall



There will be one 15-minute intermission.

Program

Briar Woods HS Jazz Band 1 Duane Minnick, director

> Errol Garner arr. Michele Fernandez

Ryan Park, alto sax Matt Payes, trombone John Eckl, trumpet Santiago Esguerra, guitar Faris Wasique, tenor sax

Angel Eyes

Ryan Park, alto sax

Matt Dennis arr. Carl Strommen

Crisis

Ryan Park, alto sax Cam Middleton, trombone Aidan Woo, trumpet Santiago Esguerra, guitar Amogh Iyengar, guitar Faris Wasique, tenor sax Taran Simhadri, drums

Freddie Hubbard arr. Mike Kamuf

15-Minute Intermission

Patrons are reminded to turn off all pagers, cell phones, personal computers, and any other electronic devices.

The unauthorized videotaping or any other recording of this production is strictly prohibited in adherence with Federal copyright laws.

Misty

Program - continued

JMU Jazz Ensemble Chuck Dotas, director

Chuck Dotas, director	
C Jam Blues	Duke Ellington
Sammy Nelson, tenor sax	arr. Bill Holman
Owen Brown, trumpet	
-	
Just Below the Surface	Dan Gailey
Michael Cseh, bass	
Ben Scott, guitar	
Evan Bertoglio, tenor sax	
Say Yes	Joe Sullivan
Sam Loeffler, trumpet	
Benji Loeffler, alto sax	
Sky Blue	Maria Schneider
Haven Kahn, soprano sax	
How Doon is the Oscan	Invina Darlin
How Deep is the Ocean	Irving Berlin
Iris Leffler, voice	arr. Bob Brookmeyer
Bob-Omb Battlefield	Koji Kondo
Benji Loeffler, alto sax	arr. Charlie Rosen
Evan Bertoglio, tenor sax	
Tyler Ende, drums	
Tyler Ende, drums	
Big Alice	Don Pullen
Jake Cuppernull, euphonium	arr. Paul McKee
Shiv Love, bass trombone	
Ben Scott, guitar	
Ryan Leith, piano	
Ethan Walker, drums	
Glenmere	Drew Zaremba
George Whichard, tenor sax	
Haven Kahn, soprano sax	

Personnel

Briar Woods HS Jazz Band 1

Saxophones Ryan Park, alto Sam Hughes, alto Faris Wasique, tenor Jacob Tozer, tenor Vasily Duplyakin, tenor Nina Islam, bari

<u>Trumpets</u> Aidan Woo John Eckl Kaylee Dickenson Maddie Giacco Daniel Monceleano Peter Harmatuk

<u>Trombones</u> Cam Middleton Liam Bean Maya McGlinnen Mathew Payes Gregory Brooks Chris Horner

<u>Rhythm Section</u> Koya Takemura, piano Avyay Iyengar, piano Amogh Iyengar, guitar Santiago Esquerra, guitar Colin Moore, bass Kathryn Terry, vibes Taran Simhadri, drums Connor Fahrenholz, drums

JMU Jazz Ensemble

<u>Voice</u> Iris Leffler

<u>Woodwinds</u> Ian Graff, clarinet/flute/bass clar Haven Kahn, alto/sop sax Evan Bertoglio, tenor sax Benji Loeffler, alto sax Sammy Nelson, tenor sax George Whichard, tenor sax Alexander Lau, bari sax, bass clar

<u>Trumpets</u> Owen Brown Chris Atkinson Sam Loeffler Ryan Johnson Oliver Hale

<u>Trombones</u> Jake Cuppernull trombone/euph Teague Jenkins Gabe Cabellero Bradley Fuller Shiv Love, bass

<u>Rhythm Section</u> Ryan Leith, piano Ben Scott, guitar Michael Cseh, bass Ethan Walker, drums Tyler Ende, drums