Search JMU Web | Find JMU People | Site Index   
 Montpelier Magazine

Madison Scholars



Distinguished Teacher Awards Winners

James Madison Day 2002: awards and festivities

Former Secretary of State, Lawrence Eagleburger, spoke about the necessity of a powerful presidency in times of national crisis, at the James Madison Day Convocation March 15, and stressed that presidential authority is vital now in the United States' war on terrorism.

"You can't make executive decisions from the Congress. It has to come from the president," said Eagleburger, who was Henry Kissinger's executive assistant and who held major positions in the administrations of Presidents Nixon, Carter and Bush.

The convocation was the culmination of a week of events in March celebrating James Madison's birth 251 years ago. "On this occasion we honor the man whose name this university bears," said President Linwood H. Rose in welcoming the Wilson Hall audience. The link between the man and the university is fitting because, as James Madison Center Director Philip Bigler said, Madison "thought of education and republicanism as one and inseparable."

Student Government Association President David J. Mills spoke on behalf of the student body, saying, "This nation has thrown its hat over the high wall of freedom. … The events of this year have taught us the sobering price of freedom."

Vice President for Academic Affairs Doug Brown recognized student and faculty award recipients including the following:

Madison Scholars

Madison Scholar awards recognize scholarly achievement in a particular discipline, and award winners are selected by their individual colleges. Winners also present a scholarly lecture on an area of their expertise during the academic year

Ehsan Ahmed, professor of economics, College of Business

Sallie B. King, professor of religion, College of Arts and Letters

Helmut Kraenzle, professor of geology, College of Integrated Science and Technology

Karen Santos, professor of special education, College of Education

Bruce Wiggins, professor of biology, College of Science and Mathematics

Distinguished Teacher Awards

Established in 1981, this award honors exemplary teaching for faculty members with at least five years service at JMU. Award winners are selected by their respective colleges.

Teresa T. Harris, professor of early childhood education, College of Education

Mark Hawthorne, professor of English and technical and scientific communication, College of Arts and Letters

William H. Ingham, professor of physics, College of Science and Mathematics

John E. McKee, professor of psychology, College of Integrated Science and Technology

Susan W. Palocsay, professor of information and decision sciences, College of Business

College of Education and Distinguished Service Award

Professor of Early Childhood Education Ann Marie Leonard received the 2002 College of Education and Psychology Service Award. The award recognizes outstanding professionally related service at the university, regional and national level.

College of Integrated Science and Technology Distinguished Service Award

Bijan Saadatmand, professor of psychology and director of International Student and Faculty Services, earned the College of Integrated Science and Technology's Distinguished Service Award. This award recognizes outstanding professionally related service at the university, local, regional and/or national levels.

Samuel Page Duke Award

Senior Amy Brown received the Samuel Page Duke Award. Amy is an integrated science and technology major with a dual concentration in biotechnology and engineering and manufacturing. After discovering that she was chosen for the award, Amy felt, "surprised and certainly honored. It really made me realize how hard I've worked and how I've striven for excellence here at JMU…this award will always be a tremendous highlight of my time at JMU."

Faculty Award

Music major Karen Keeler received the Faculty Award, presented to the graduating student with the highest GPA. Keeler, whose concentration in instrumentals, found out that she would receive the award via telephone while studying in the music building. "A complete swell of emotions came over me," she said. "I was astonished, overwhelmed and thrilled to the point I was shaking and crying. I was attracted to JMU by the music program, but the warm and welcoming atmosphere of the campus won my heart instantly. I am forever grateful of each and every faculty member I have studied with."

Story by Allison Swanson ('02) and Pam Brock