Search JMU Web | Find JMU People | Site Index   
 Montpelier Magazine



Distinguished Teachers

On March 13, five professors received the Distinguished Teacher Award during James Madison Day, the annual commemoration of James Madison's birthday. Recipients this year include a chemist, mathematician, economist, historian and scientist. They are Benjamin A. DeGraff Jr., professor of chemistry in the College of Science and Mathematics; Stephen E. Wright, associate professor of integrated science and technology in the College of Integrated Science and Technology; T. Windsor Fields, professor of economics in the College of Business; Reid J. Linn, professor of special education in the College of Education; and Henry Myers, professor of history in the College of Arts and Letters.

Established in 1981, the Distinguished Teacher Award honors exemplary teaching among assistant professors or higher who maintain full-time status and have worked at JMU for five years. The recipients are selected to receive the award and represent their college by their fellow professors. Linn says, "It is truly gratifying to have been selected by your colleagues as the distinguished teacher for the college." Linn has taught at JMU for over 18 years, and been recognized for numerous accomplishments. In addition to receiving over $12 million in grants, Linn has received numerous awards, including the Virginia Association of Colleges of Teacher Education Instructional Leadership Award, the JMU Greek System Outstanding Teacher of the Year award and the College of Education and Psychology Madison Scholar award.

Other recipients of this year's award have also been recognized for their contributions to education. Myers received the Carl Harter Award, and DeGraff was honored during the 2000 Washington, D.C., symposium of the American Chemical Society.

Ashley Walkley ('03)