A-to-Z Index

Five Constant Virtues of


The Story

Five Constant Virtues of Confucianism

Five Constant Virtues of Confucianism by Utagawa Hiroshige, 
Utagawa Toyokuni, and Utagawa Kuniyoshi

Japan: early 19th century, Woodblock print

It is believed that this woodprint is actually meant to be a board game that teaches the player about values of Confucianism. It was created by three artists over a number of years and comprises several stories about five constant virtues of Confucianism.

The virtues are: benevolence or humanity, righteousness, propriety, wisdom, and fidelity or sincerity.

Learn about the famous Utagawa School and the relationships between various artists: