University Business Office
Open Monday - Friday: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
The University Business Office is responsible for financial policies regarding student accounts at the University.
Payment of Student Account Charges
- All balances not covered by financial aid, the installment payment plan or Virginia Prepaid Plan are due in full by the first week of classes or the billing due date.
- No student with past due student account charges will be permitted to register until the account is paid in full or alternative financial arrangements have been made with the University Business Office.
- Methods of payment and payment due dates are available on the UBO website.
- Checks returned unpaid because of insufficient funds or for any other reason are considered a serious matter by the university. A $50 return check fee will be charged for each returned item and posted to the student’s account. A returned check hold will remain on the student account indefinitely but will not hinder registration. The student will be notified that the check has been returned and given repayment instructions.
- Returned checks must be redeemed at the University Business Office in Warren Hall with cash, cashier/official bank check, money order or at the UBO web site with a credit card payment. Payment of the account is considered to have been made on the date the returned check is redeemed; late fees as outlined in the undergraduate and graduate catalogs may apply.
- Class registration will be canceled if funds are not repaid as stipulated.
- Subsequent payment with a personal check to release a hold will be contingent upon verification of funds or the check clearing the issuing bank which can take up to 15 business days.
- No credit for university work may be given to any student for a diploma, teacher’s license or for transfer purposes until all past due debts to the university have been paid.
- Students will not be eligible for readmission unless accounts are paid in full for the current session.
- With the approval of the Assistant VP for Finance, students who are deficient in their accounts may be withdrawn from the university or may be restricted from attending classes until satisfactory arrangements have been made for payment of their past due obligations to the university.
- Delinquent student account balances will be charged a 10% late payment fee which will not be waived.
- Refunds for withdrawal from the university are calculated from the effective date of withdrawal.
- Students, who withdraw due to illness certified by a physician or for unavoidable emergency or extenuating circumstances approved by the University Ombudsman, may be refunded a pro rata share of all fees. The dates for determining pro rata refunds will be those stated in the university calendar for the opening of the dining and residence halls.
- Students, whose connection with the university terminates because of disciplinary action or enforced withdrawal after the university official withdrawal date, will not receive any adjustment of university charges. A balance on the student’s account must be paid in full, Financial Aid awards may be returned and balances may occur which are the responsibility of the student.
Virginia Status Classification
- Eligibility for in-state tuition charges is based on the provisions of section 23-7.4 of the Code of Virginia. This statute limits in-state tuition to those with Virginia domiciliary status. Virginia domiciles have a present fixed home in the Commonwealth, have the intention of remaining indefinitely and have come to Virginia for reasons other than education.
- Links to the Code of Virginia, the interpretation of the Code of Virginia entitled “Residency Guidelines,” and the reclassification application form can be found on the UBO Web site under the section “Residency Requirements.” The Code of Virginia requires that a reclassification application must be received in the UBO prior to the first day of class for the semester for which eligibility is claimed.
- In accordance with state law, in-state students who initially entered a Virginia public institution during the fall 2006 semester will be accessed a surcharge for any credit hours taken over 125% of their degree program requirement. Exceptions may apply when credit hours are required for an additional program.