Board of Visitors Meeting Summary of Actions/Discussions

From: Public Affairs

The James Madison University Board of Visitors met Friday, June 4, 2010, in the Board Room of Madisonís Festival Conference and Student Center.

Following is a summary of actions taken by the board and key areas of discussion at the board meeting:

  • Approved the April 2, 2010 BOV meeting minutes;
  • Elected and approved officers;
  • Received the Presidentís report by Dr. Linwood Rose;
  • Heard and approved committee reports from Athletics, Audit, Development, Education & Student Life, and Finance & Physical Development;
  • Received an update about the Institute for Stewardship of the Natural World from Christie-Joy Brodrick-Hartman;
  • Heard and approved a reorganization plan for the College of Arts and Letters presented by Dr. David Jeffrey;
  • Approved the 2010-2011 budget presented by Mr. Charles King;
  • Approved the real estate purchase of 101 Ė 103 Grace Street and 420 Ė 572 Chesapeake Avenue.

Was told by President Linwood H. Rose:

  • that JMU received the Governorís Environmental Excellence Award;
  • that JMU was named one of the countryís most responsible environmental colleges by the Princeton Reviewís Guide to 286 Green Colleges;
  • that E-Hall was certified LEED Gold;
  • that JMU recently honored the achievements of 3,700 graduates;
  • that JMUís Alternative Break Program was recognized as the National Program of the Year for 2010;
  • that a JMU Honors graduate, Eric Pasciuti, earned a Fulbright Award to teach in Taiwan;
  • that JMU is this yearís winner of the Financial Literacy Leadership Award from the National Student Loan Program;
  • that JMUís debate team was named the top public program in the nation;
  • that JMUís lacrosse team won the CAA championship and went to the Elite 8 in the NCAA tournament and coach Shelley Klaes-Bawcombe was named national coach of the year;
  • that JMUís baseball team won the CAA regular season crown;
  • that President Rose was appointed to Governor McDonnellís Higher Education Commission.

# # #

June 4, 2010