About the University
Founded in 1908 and located in the center of Virginia's famous Shenandoah Valley, James Madison University is a public, comprehensive university. The university offers programs at the bachelor's, master's, educational specialist and doctoral levels.

The total enrollment for the fall 2010 session was 19,396. This total included 17,633 undergraduate students and 1,763 graduate students, including degree and non-degree-seeking students. The 712-acre campus features 114 major buildings. JMU offers students a full program of extracurricular and social programs, as well as a diversified program of intercollegiate and intramural athletics.

JMU is located in Harrisonburg, Va., a progressive city of over 40,000. The area is flanked by the Blue Ridge Mountains on the east and the Allegheny Mountains on the west. The JMU campus is located just off interstate 81 and is a two-hour drive from Washington, D.C., and Richmond, Va., and one hour from Charlottesville, Va.

The Graduate School is located in the Grace Street House at 17 West Grace Street.

History of the University
In the more than 100 years since its founding, JMU has grown from a state normal and industrial school for women to today's coeducational comprehensive university. In 1914, the name of the university was changed to the State Normal School for Women at Harrisonburg. The university became the State Teachers College at Harrisonburg in 1924 and continued under that name until 1938, when it was named Madison College in honor of the fourth president of the United States. In 1977, the name was changed to James Madison University.

The JMU Graduate School was established in 1954, when the State Board of Education authorized the university to offer programs leading to the Master of Science in Education degree. The Graduate School is authorized to offer graduate programs leading to master's, Educational Specialist, Doctor of Audiology, Doctor of Musical Arts, Doctor of Philosophy and Doctor of Psychology degrees.

It is the mission of The Graduate School to support, facilitate and promote excellence in lifelong education through graduate programs of distinction, innovative outreach programs and a diverse student body.

The mission of The Graduate School is in concert with the overall mission of the university, which states:

We are a community committed to preparing students to be educated and enlightened
citizens who lead productive and meaningful lives.



University Administration
The general responsibility for the administration of the university has been assigned to the president, who is appointed by the JMU Board of Visitors. When the board is in recess, its executive committee may exercise the power of the board.

Assisting the president in the administration of the university are the provost and senior vice president for academic affairs, the senior vice president for administration and finance, the senior vice president for student affairs and university planning, the senior vice president for university advancement, and the executive assistant to the president.

Appointment to these positions and to the university's instructional and administrative faculty is made by the JMU Board of Visitors upon the recommendation of the president.

JMU consists of The Graduate School and the following colleges:

College of Arts and Letters
College of Business
College of Education
College of Integrated Science and Technology
College of Science and Mathematics
College of Visual and Performing Arts

Graduate School Administration
The office of the dean of The Graduate School has academic responsibility for all issues of graduate education at JMU. Significant in the organization and administration of The Graduate School are the university's Graduate Council and the graduate faculty body.

The Graduate Council
The Graduate Council is the chief policy-forming and advisory body for The Graduate School. Its duties are to formulate, review, and approve or recommend for approval policies and other items concerning the conduct of graduate study at James Madison University and to provide leadership in advocating for graduate education and scholarship of the highest caliber. Graduate Council actions are reported to the graduate faculty, to college deans and to appropriate administrators of the university.

The primary aim of including the Graduate Council in the organization of JMU is to facilitate graduate program faculty participation in the establishment of university policies and procedures.

Responsibilities of the Graduate Council
The Graduate Council is specifically charged with the following responsibilities:

Graduate Faculty
The graduate faculty hold a position of honor at JMU. Through the Graduate Council, the graduate faculty members assist the dean in developing general policies and administrative procedures for graduate programs. The office of the dean of The Graduate School, assisted by the Graduate Council and the graduate faculty, has responsibility for final approval of graduate degrees to be awarded.

James Madison University Administration

Board of Visitors

Mr. James E. Hartman (Rector), Harrisonburg
Mr. Wharton B. Rivers Jr., (Vice Rector), The Woodlands, TX
Mrs. Susan Allen, Alexandria, VA
Mr. Kenneth Bartee, Oak Hill, VA
Mr. Mark T. Bowles, Goochland
Mr. Joseph F. Damico, Libertyville, IL
Mr. Ronald C. Devine, Burke
Ms. Vanessa M. Evans, Charlottesville
Mrs. Lois J. Forbes, Harrisonburg
Mr. Joseph K. Funkhouser, II, Harrisonburg
Mrs. Elizabeth V. Lodal, McLean
Mr. Larry M. Rogers, Harrisonburg
Mr. Steve Smith, Abingdon, VA
Mrs. Judith "Judy" S. Strickler, Harrisonburg
Mr. Fred D. Thompson, Jr., Ashburn
Mr. Daniel M. Smolkin (student member), Asheville, NC
Mrs. Donna L. Harper (Secretary), JMU/Harrisonburg

Chief Administrative Officers

Linwood H. Rose, Ed.D.

Division Heads
A. Jerry Benson, Ph.D.,
Interim Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Joanne Carr, Ph.D.,
Senior Vice President for University Advancement

Charles W. King Jr., M.A.,
Senior Vice President for Administration and Finance

Mark Warner, Ed.D.,
Senior Vice President for Student Affairs and University Planning

Ralph Alberico, M.L.S.,
Dean of Libraries and Educational Technologies

David F. Brakke, Ph.D.,
Dean, College of Science and Mathematics

Linda Cabe Halpern, Ph.D.,
Dean, University Studies

David K. Jeffrey, Ph.D.,
Dean, College of Arts and Letters

Reid J. Linn, Ph.D,
Dean, The Graduate School

Sharon E. Lovell, Ph.D.,
Interim Dean, College of Integrated Science & Technology

Robert D. Reid, Ed.D.,
Dean, College of Business

George E. Sparks, Ph.D.,
Dean, College of Visual and Performing Arts

Phillip M. Wishon, Ph.D.,
Dean, College of Education


JMU Alumni Association
The JMU Alumni Association is comprised of all graduates of the university, all annual donors to the university, and, on an associate membership level, all individuals who have completed 12 credit hours and request membership with the association.

The association is directed by the Alumni Board of Directors, a corporate board of directors with 16 at-large members; an executive committee; and representatives from the JMU Board of Visitors and the Student Ambassadors (student alumni association). The board represents the interests of all graduates by reviewing and setting the strategy for the association.

For more information, visit http://www.jmu.edu/alumni/.

JMU Foundation
The James Madison University Foundation, Inc., a 501(c)3 organization, was chartered in 1969 for the purpose of raising, investing and administering private gift funds for the benefit of James Madison University.

For more information on how the JMU Foundation operates, please see the policies and the public documents available on the JMU Foundation Web site at: http://www.jmu.edu/foundation/.





Horizontal Rule