Graduate Calendar for 2011-2012

Fall Semester 2011

August 29, Monday
Classes meet as scheduled.

September 8, Thursday
Graduate Council meeting.

September 12, Monday
Thesis/Dissertation Committee Approval form due to The Graduate School.

September 16, Friday
Graduate Student Picnic, Festival Grand Ballroom.

September 16, Friday
Last day to withdraw from the university with cancellation of tuition charges and refund.

September 27, Tuesday
JMU Graduate and Law School Information Fair.

September 30, Friday
Last day to submit an application for a master's, Ed.S. or doctoral degree if graduation requirements are to be met in December 2011.

October 1-2, Saturday – Sunday
Homecoming.

October 13, Thursday
Graduate Council meeting.

October 14, Friday
First Block courses end.

October 15-16, Saturday
Family Weekend.

October 17, Monday
Second Block courses begin.

October 25, Tuesday
First Block course grades due in the Office of the Registrar.

October 31, Monday
Last day for doctoral students to submit their dissertation titles to TGS for inclusion in the December commencement program.

November 10, Thursday
Graduate Council meeting.

November 18, Friday
Dining Services closes at 7:30 p.m.
Comprehensive assessment results and Thesis/Research Project/Dissertation due to The Graduate School.

November 19, Saturday
Thanksgiving vacation begins.

November 26, Saturday
Dining Services opens at 4:30 p.m.

November 28, Monday
Classes resume.
Last day for students to submit work to faculty for 2011 spring semester and 2011 summer session for removal of "incomplete" grades.

December 8, Thursday
Graduate Council meeting.

December 9, Friday
Last day of classes.
Last day for faculty to turn in removal of "incomplete" grades for 2011 spring semester and 2011 summer session to the Office of the Registrar.

December 12–16, Monday – Friday
Final examinations.

December 16, Friday
Dining Services close and fall meal plans end at 2 p.m.
Deadline for completion of course work for December graduates.

December 17, Saturday
Commencement at 10 a.m. in the Convocation Center.

RETURN TO TOP

Spring Semester 2012

January 8, Sunday
Spring meal plans begin and Dining Services open at 5 p.m.

January 9, Monday
Classes meet as scheduled.

January 12, Thursday
Graduate Council meeting.

January 16, Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day. Classes do not meet.

January 20, Friday
Last day to submit an application for a master's, Ed.S. or doctoral degree if graduation requirements are to be met in May 2012.

January 27, Friday
Last day to withdraw from the university with cancellation of tuition charges and refund.

January 30, Monday
Thesis Committee Approval form due to The Graduate School.

February 9, Thursday
Graduate Council meeting.

February 14, Tuesday
Student Assessment/Faculty Assistance (no classes 8 a.m. – 4 p.m.).
Evening classes (those beginning 4 p.m. or later) meet as scheduled.

February 28, Tuesday
Third Block courses end.

March 2, Friday
Mid-semester grades due in the Office of the Registrar.
Dining Services closes at 2 p.m.

March 5-9, Monday – Friday
Spring Break. Classes do not meet.

March 11, Sunday
Dining Services open at 5 p.m.

March 12, Monday
Classes resume. Fourth Block courses begin.

March 15, Thursday
Graduate Council meeting.

March 16, Friday
James Madison Day.

March 19, Monday
Advanced registration for 2012 summer session begins.

March 30, Friday
Last day for doctoral students to submit their dissertation titles to TGS for inclusion in the commencement program.

April 3, Tuesday
Registration begins for 2012 fall semester.

April 12, Thursday
Graduate Council meeting.

April 13, Friday
Last day for students to submit work to faculty for 2011 fall semester for removal of "incomplete" grades.

April 18, Wednesday
Comprehensive assessment results and Thesis/Research Project/Dissertation due to The Graduate School.

April 27, Friday
Last day of classes.
Last day for faculty to turn in removal of "incomplete" grades for 2011 fall semester to the Office of the Registrar.

April 30-May 4, Monday – Friday
Final examinations.

May 4, Friday
Dining Services close at 7 p.m. and spring meal plans end.
Deadline for completion of course work for May graduates.
Graduate Commencement Ceremony, Convocation Center.

May 18, Friday
Graduate Council retreat.

RETURN TO TOP

Graduate 2012 Summer Sessions

May 14, Monday
Registration and fee payment for twelve-week term, first four-week term and first six-week term.
Classes meet as scheduled.

May 28, Monday
Holiday – Memorial Day. Classes do not meet.

June 8, Friday
Last day to submit an application for a master's, Ed.S. or doctoral degree if graduation requirements are to be met in summer 2012.
Final examinations for first four-week term.

June 11, Monday
Registration and fee payment for eight-week term and second four-week term.
Classes meet as scheduled.

June 22, Friday
Final examinations for first six-week term.

June 25, Monday
Registration and fee payment for second six-week term.
Classes meet as scheduled.

July 4, Wednesday
Holiday – Fourth of July. Classes do not meet.

July 6, Friday
Comprehensive assessment results and Thesis/Research Project/Dissertation due to The Graduate School.
Final examinations for second four-week term.

August 3, Friday
Final examinations for twelve-week term, eight-week term and second six-week term.
Deadline for completion of course work for summer graduates.

RETURN TO TOP

 

 

 

Horizontal Rule