The Graduate School

The Graduate School coordinates graduate and postgraduate education throughout the university. The JMU Graduate School was established in 1954 when the State Board of Education authorized the university to offer programs leading to the Master of Science in Education degree. There have been over 12,530 graduate degrees awarded through 2008-09, and enrollment growth and ongoing development of graduate programs of distinction are key strategic initiatives of the university.

It is the mission of The Graduate School to support, facilitate and promote excellence in lifelong education through graduate programs of distinction, innovative outreach programs, and a diverse student body.

Graduate Programs
The Graduate School
at James Madison University is authorized to offer graduate programs leading to master's degrees, Educational Specialist degrees, Doctor of Audiology, Doctor of Philosophy degrees, Doctor of Psychology and Doctor of Musical Arts degrees. Many graduate programs also offer concentration areas. Refer to the links for details about each program offered.

The Graduate School offers the following programs and degrees:

All graduate program inquiries should be addressed to:

The Graduate School
James Madison University
MSC: 6702
Harrisonburg, VA 22807





Horizontal Rule