Fall Semester 2010

Spring Semester 2011

Graduate 2011 Summer Sessions


PDF Version of Web Page PDF Version of Web Page

Graduate Calendar for 2010-2011

Fall Semester 2010

August 30, Monday
Classes meet as scheduled.

September 9, Thursday
Graduate Council Meeting.

September 17, Friday
Last day to withdraw from the university with cancellation of tuition charges and refund.

September 14, Monday
Thesis/Dissertation Committee Approval form due to The Graduate School.

September 10, Friday
Graduate Student Picnic, Festival Grand Ballroom.

September 28, Tuesday
JMU Graduate and Law School Information Fair.

October 1, Friday
Last day to submit an application for a master's, Ed.S. or doctoral degree if graduation requirements are to be met in December 2010.

October 14, Thursday
Graduate Council Meeting.

October 15, Friday
First Block courses end.

October 15-17, Friday – Sunday
Homecoming.

October 18, Monday
Second Block courses begin.

October 21, Thursday
Mid-semester grades due in the Office of the Registrar.

October 26, Tuesday
First Block course grades due in the Office of the Registrar.

October 27, Wednesday
Last day for doctoral students to submit their dissertation titles to TGS for inclusion in the commencement program.

November 11, Thursday
Graduate Council Meeting.

November 19, Friday
Comprehensive assessment results due to The Graduate School.
Thesis/Research Project/Dissertation due to The Graduate School.
Dining Services closes at 7:30 p.m.

November 20, Saturday
Thanksgiving vacation begins and residence halls close at 10 a.m.

November 27, Saturday
Residence halls open at 4 p.m.
Dining Services opens at 4:30 p.m.

November 29, Monday
Classes resume.
Last day for students to submit work to faculty for 2010 spring semester and 2010 summer session for removal of "incomplete" grades.

December 9, Thursday
Graduate Council Meeting.

December 10, Friday
Last day of classes.
Last day for faculty to turn in removal of "incomplete" grades for 2010 spring semester and 2010 summer session to the Office of the Registrar.

December 13-17, Monday – Friday
Final examinations.

December 17, Friday
Residence halls close at 5 p.m.
Dining Services close and fall meal plans end at 2 p.m.
Deadline for completion of course work for December graduates.

December 18, Saturday
Graduation.
Commencement exercises, Convocation Center.

RETURN TO TOP


Spring Semester 2011

January 9, Sunday
Residence halls open at 9 a.m.
Spring meal plans begin and Dining Services open at 5 p.m.

January 10, Monday
Classes meet as scheduled.

January 13, Thursday
Graduate Council Meeting.

January 17, Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day. Classes do not meet.

January 21, Friday
Last day to submit an application for a master's, Ed.S. or doctoral degree if graduation requirements are to be met in May 2011.

January 28, Friday
Last day to withdraw from the university with cancellation of tuition charges and refund.

January 31, Monday
Thesis Committee Approval form due to The Graduate School.

February 10, Thursday
Graduate Council Meeting.

February 15, Tuesday
Student Assessment/Faculty Assistance (no classes 8 a.m. – 4 p.m.).
Evening classes (those beginning 4 p.m. or later) meet as scheduled.

March 1, Tuesday
Third Block courses end.

March 4, Friday
Dining Services closes at 2 p.m.
Residence halls close at 5 p.m.

March 7 – 11, Monday – Friday.
Spring Break. Classes do not meet.

March 13, Sunday
Residence halls open at noon and Dining Services open at 5 p.m.

March 14, Monday
Classes resume.
Fourth Block courses begin.

March 18, Friday
James Madison Day.

March 21, Monday
Advance registration for 2011 summer session begins.

March 31, Thursday
Last day for doctoral students to submit their dissertation titles to TGS for inclusion in the commencement program.

April 5, Tuesday
Registration begins for 2011 fall semester.

April 14, Thursday
Graduate Council Meeting.

April 15, Friday
Last day for students to submit work to faculty for 2010 fall semester for removal of "incomplete" grades.

April 20, Wednesday
Comprehensive assessment results due to The Graduate School.
Thesis/Research Project/Dissertation due to The Graduate School.

April 29, Friday
Last day of classes.
Last day for faculty to turn in removal of "incomplete" grades for 2010 fall semester to the Office of the Registrar.

May 2 – 6, Monday – Friday
Final examinations.

May 6, Friday
Dining Services close at 7 p.m. and spring meal plans end.
Deadline for completion of course work for May graduates.
Graduation. Commencement exercises, Convocation Center.

May 20, Friday
Graduate Council Retreat.

RETURN TO TOP


Graduate 2011 Summer Sessions

Important Dates For All 2011 Summer Sessions

June 4, Friday
Last day to submit an application for a master's, Ed.S. or doctoral degree if graduation requirements are to be met by the end of the 2011 summer session.

July 7, Thursday
Comprehensive assessment results due to The Graduate School.
Thesis/Research Project/Dissertation due to The Graduate School.

August 5, Friday
Deadline for completion of course work for summer graduates.


Twelve-Week Graduate Term

May 16, Monday
Classes meet as scheduled.

May 30, Monday
Memorial Day. Classes do not meet.

July 4, Monday
Fourth of July. Classes do not meet.

August 5, Friday
Final examinations for twelve-week graduate term.


Eight-Week Graduate Term

June 6, Monday
Classes meet as scheduled.

July 4, Monday
Fourth of July. Classes do not meet.

August 5, Friday
Final examinations for eight-week graduate term.


First Six-Week Graduate Term

May 16, Monday
Classes meet as scheduled.

May 30, Monday
Memorial Day. Classes do not meet.

June 24, Friday
Final examinations for first six-week graduate term.


Second Six-Week Graduate Term

June 27, Monday
Classes meet as scheduled.

July 4, Monday
Fourth of July. Classes do not meet.

August 5, Friday
Final examinations for second six-week graduate term.


First Four-Week Graduate Term

May 16, Monday
Classes meet as scheduled.

May 30, Monday
Memorial Day. Classes do not meet.

June 10, Friday
Final examinations for first four-week graduate term.


Second Four-Week Graduate Term

June 13, Monday
Classes meet as scheduled.

July 4, Monday
Fourth of July.
Classes do not meet.

July 8, Friday
Final examinations for second four-week graduate term.

RETURN TO TOP