small round give now buttonWilliam Frangos Award for Geophysics and Quantitative

            Environmental Geology

William Frangos (1943-2004)

PhD, University of California-Berkeley
MS, University of Utah
BS, Massachusetts Institute of Technology



Will Frangos began at JMU with much experience in the field of geophysics and a brand new PhD in hand. He convinced everyone that geophysics is fun. He taught a variety of geophysics and quantitative geology courses as well as the general education science course, GSCI 101, Physics, Chemistry and the Human Experience. Students flocked to him, interested and eager to learn and experience through geophysics research projects. Will touched many lives with his friendship and will always remain in their hearts.


This scholarship was established by Suzan Frangos in memory of Will.  The scholarship provides funds to an undergraduate student doing research in Geophysics and/or Quantitative Environmental Geology.


Scholarship Recipients

  • 2014: Jillian Browning and Brendan Soles
  • 2013: Douglas Jones
  • 2012: Ellen Keel
  • 2011: Brittany Wilhelm
  • 2010: Timothy Brooks
  • 2006: Sarah Roberts
  • 2005: Mark Bascope and Scott Ikard