Noftsinger Celebration of Madison Scholarship

Mon, 13 Nov 2017 5:00 PM - 7:30 PM

Festival Ballroom

JMU Research & Scholarship cordially invites you to the 7th Noftsinger Celebration of Madison Scholarship (NCMS).  This annual event provides a relaxed setting for faculty to attend a presentation by the Provost Award Winner for Excellence in Research and Scholarship – 2017 award recipient is Dr. Paul Bogard, enjoy creative performances by JMU faculty, and connect with colleagues from across campus on scholarly pursuits during a catered reception.  The 2017 NCMS will include a welcome by President Alger, piano performances by Provost Coltman, and poetry readings by Dr. Joanne Gabbin, Executive Director of the Furious Flower Poetry Center and Ms. Lauren Alleyne, Assistant Director.  The 75-minute program will be followed by a beer and wine reception with plenty of hot and cold hors-d'oeuvres.  This event is open to all JMU faculty.

Master of Ceremonies

Mark Piper

Associate Professor of Philosophy
Faculty Senate Speaker ProTempore 


–  President Alger Welcome Remarks

–  Provost Coltman Piano Performance

    Introduction of Paul Bogard

–  Provost Award Winner Paul Bogard Keynote Presentation

–  Furious Flower Poetry Readings

    Performed by:    Joanne Gabbin, Ph.D.

Lauren Allenye, M.F.A.

–  Provost Coltman Piano Performance

–  Reception

7:30 pm  –  Adjourn

Paul Bogard Bio

Paul Bogard is the author of The Ground Beneath Us: From the Oldest Cities to the Last Wilderness, What Dirt Tells Us About Who We Are, published by Little, Brown and Company on March 21, 2017.  He is also the author of The End of Night: Searching for Natural Darkness in an Age of Artificial Light, published in North America by Little, Brown and Company and in the UK and around the world by 4th Estate/Harper Collins.  The End of Night has been translated into German, Spanish, Japanese, Chinese, and Korean, and is available in hardcover, e-book, paperback, and audiobook.  A native Minnesotan, Paul grew up exploring the forest and watching the stars near a lake in the northern part of the state.  He has lived and taught in New Mexico, Nevada, Wisconsin, and North Carolina, and is a faculty member in the English Department at James Madison University, where he teaches creative nonfiction and environmental literature.

Joanne Gabbin Bio

A professor of English at James Madison University, Joanne V. Gabbin was the director of the JMU Honors Program (now the Honors College) when she hosted the premier Furious Flower Poetry Conference in 1994, which was the first academic conference on Black poetry.  She continued to invite Black poets and other scholars to the JMU campus under the auspices of the Honors Program (calling these guest lectures and readings Furious Flower events), and in 2005, after the grand success of another major Furious Flower Poetry Conference in 2004, JMU formally established the Furious Flower Poetry Center, the first and at the time only academic center devoted to Black poetry.  Dr. Gabbin left her beloved position with the Honors Program to become executive director of the new center.  Since then, Gabbin has served as a visionary leader, building key relationships with scholars, poets, and corporate partners, as well as conceiving, overseeing, and fundraising for special projects and events.

Lauren Alleyne Bio

Associate Professor of English at James Madison University, Lauren K. Alleyne serves as Furious Flower’s Assistant Director, seeking funding through grants and gifts; envisioning and planning events; editing the center's online journal, The Fight & the Fiddle, and other literary projects; and advising JMU’s student creative writing organization, Word is Born.  She hails from the twin-island nation of Trinidad and Tobago and holds an MFA in Poetry and a graduate certificate in Feminist, Gender, and Sexuality Studies from Cornell University.  Her fiction, poetry, and nonfiction have been widely published in journals and anthologies, and she is a Cave Canem graduate who has been awarded numerous prizes, including the 2016 Split This Rock Poetry Prize, the 2015 Iowa Arts Council Fellowship Award, the 2015 Picador Guest Professorship in Literature at the University of Leibzig, a 2012 Lyrical Iowa Award, 2010 Small Axe Literary Prize, and honorable mention in the 2010 Cave Canem Poetry Prize. 

Questions?  Contact Ben Delp.

Back to Top