A-to-Z Index

Faculty Emeriti News


The fall edition of the JMU Faculty Emeriti newsletter is mailed to the home addresses of all Emeriti. Faculty Emeriti Association members receive the spring edition as well. Follow the links below to read the current, or achived issues:


At the December 2008 meeting, members of the association voted to present a $1000 work of art to the university in commemoration of the centennial. Martha Caldwell has selected a Matisse print "The Perruche and the Sirene," to be placed in the Performing Arts Center. It can be viewed at www.georgetownframeshoppe.com, modern artists, late works of Matisse. The work is located on the second page. 


A group of our members, aptly known as Emeriti Friends, stand ready to provide transportation to medical appointments for other emeriti. They will provide transportation for those members unable to drive to our meetings. Contact: Mary Lou Wiley wylieml@jmu.edu.


Film interviews with Emeriti association members will take place this academic year. With the assistance of JMU Division of University Advancement staff, tentative plans have been made to schedule an approximately forty-five minute interview on camera with each faculty member; editing will occur later. Interviews will be placed on the JMU website to be accessed by alumni and others who wish to know about us and our experiences at JMU.

Sherry King (kingsf@jmu.edu) of the Office of Parent Relations will schedule appointments for taping these interviews. Be ready to respond positively to Sherry when she contacts you.

Legacy Grant

Each year the Emeriti Association presents a $2,000 unrestricted grant to a JMU faculty member who has made significant professional contributions over time.  The award randomly rotates among colleges, with the selection made by the dean of the college.

Past recipients are:

  • 2006 - Dr. Newell Wright, Marketing Department
  • 2007 - Dr. Raymond Hyser, History Department
  • 2008 - Dr. Teresa Harris, Early Childhood Ed. Department
  • 2009 - Dr. Ann Myers, Social Work Department
  • 2010 - Dr. Hassan Hamdan, Mathematics and Statistics Department
  • 2011 - Dr. Don Rierson, Music Department
  • 2012 - Dr. Scott Hammond, Political Science Department
  • 2013 - Dr. Bill Wood, Economics
  • 2014 - Dr. David Slykhuis, Science Education