The College and University Auditors of Virginia (CUAV) association was formed in 1976. An annual conference is held each year to provide training and accomplish the mission.

Mission Statement and Purpose

To unify and encourage cooperative relationships among internal auditors who are representatives of institutions of higher education in Virginia; to promote and maintain high professional standards for internal auditing programs in these institutions; to promulgate the need and value of a well- founded internal audit program through periodic meetings, correspondence, visits, etc.; and to sponsor such other activities as may be needed or useful in achieving these programs.

Current Active Institutions

  • Christopher Newport University
  • George Mason University
  • James Madison University
  • Liberty University
  • Longwood University
  • Mary Washington University
  • Norfolk State University
  • Old Dominion University
  • Radford University
  • Virginia Community College System
  • Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Virginia State University
  • Virginia Tech
  • University of Virginia
  • The College of William and Mary
  • University of Richmond
  • Eastern Virginia Medical School

2017 CUAV Directors 

Picture of CUAV Audit Directors

From left to right - Sharon Kurek (VT), Becky Holmes (JMU), Faith Belote (CNU), Whit Madere (VCCS), Amanda Skaggs (ODU), Ed Dittmeier (GMU), David Litton (VCU), Margaret McManus (CUAV President)(RU), Arutyun (Harry) Aristakesian (NSU), Kent Erdahl (W&M), Ella Maokhamphiou (LU)

Not pictured - Carolyn Devine Saint (UVA), Du'Neika Easley (UR), Bill Cole (VCU), Barrett Wood (EVMS), Patty Aadahl (Colonial Williamsburg Foundation), Tammy Spradlin (LU), Tera Kovanes (MWU), Sheila Alves (VSU), Mary Rohas (VCCS)(CUAV Treasurer)                                                                                                          

Current President (2016-18)

Margaret McManus
Director, Audit and Advisory Services
Radford University
232 Preston Hall
PO Box 6908
Radford, VA  24142
540-831-5966 (phone)
540-831-6610 (fax)

Past Presidents

  • 2014-2016 Becky Holmes, James Madison University
  • 2012-2014 Tera Kovanes, University of Mary Washington
  • 2010-2012 Sharon Kurek, Virginia Tech
  • 2009-2010 Robert F. Murray, Longwood University
  • 2007-2009 Joanne V. Curtis Taylor - Virginia State University
  • 2005-2007 John Rudd - Virginia Tech
  • 2003-2005 John Brillant - Virginia Community College System
  • 2001-2003 Deane Hennett - Old Dominion University
  • 1999-2001 Helen Vanderland - University of  Mary Washington
  • 1997-1999 Ken Hubble - George Mason University
  • 1995-1997 Mike Stump - College of William and Mary
  • 1993-1995 Barbara Deily - University of Virginia
  • 1991-1993 Richard Bunce - Virginia Commonwealth University
  • 1989-1991 Mary Lou Merkt - Radford University
  • 1987-1989 Sharon Brown - Old Dominion University
  • 1985-1987 Larry Holsinger - James Madison University
  • 1981-1985 Rich Kovatch - University of Virginia
  • 1977-1981 Ron Kiester - Virginia Tech
  • 1976-1977 Larry Craighead - University of Virginia

Founding Members

  • Larry Craighead - University of Virginia
  • O. Dabney Riley, Jr. - Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Ron Keister - Virginia Tech
  • Robert Stevenson - Virginia Community College System
  • Larry L. Holsinger - James Madison University
  • Herb Panther - George Mason University
  • Paul Koehly - William and Mary

Back to Top