WHAT IS A VDSS-LICENSED CHILD CARE FACILITY?
Department of Social Services
Commonwealth of Virginia
The Commonwealth of Virginia helps assure parents that child day programs with responsibility for the supervision, protection, and well-being of a child for any part of a 24-hour day are safe. Title 63.1, Chapter 10 of the Code of Virginia gives the Department of Social Services authority for licensure. Licensed programs include child day centers, family day homes, child day care systems, and family day care systems. The state may also voluntarily register family day homes not required to be licensed.
Standards for Licensed Child Day Centers set standards for health precautions, adequate play space, ratio of children to staff, equipment, program and record keeping. Criminal record checks and specific qualifications for staff and most volunteers working directly with children are also required. Standards require the facility to meet applicable fire, health, and building codes.
Compliance with standards is determined by unannounced visits to the program by licensing staff within the Department of Social Services. In addition, parents or other individuals may register a complaint about a program which will be investigated if it violates a standard.
Licenses may be issued to programs. Conditional licenses may be issued to a new program and allow up to six months for the program to demonstrate compliance with the standards. A regular License is issued when the program substantially meets the standards for licensure. A provisional license, which cannot exceed six months, is issued when the program is temporarily unable to comply with the standards.
Operating without a license when required constitutes a misdemeanor, which, upon conviction, can be punishable by fine of up to $100 or imprisonment of up to 12 months or both for each day's violation.
For additional information about the licensing of child day programs or to register a complaint, contact the Regional Office of Social Services:
|Valley Licensing Office
Augusta Professional Park
57 Beam Lane, Suite 102
Fishersville, VA 22939
Phone: (540) 332-2330
Virginia Department of Social Services. (2005). Standards for Licensed Child Day Centers. Richmond, Virginia: Division of Licensing Programs.
A two-year license is issued to a facility with activities, services, management and overall performance levels that comply on a sustained basis with minimum standards and exceed minimum standards in some areas.
The Young Children's Program is currently licensed through March 5, 2017.
State Fire Marshal's Office
ANNUAL OPERATION PERMIT
VA Dept of Social Services
LICENSING INSPECTION REPORTS